By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
ACC coaches vote Clemsons Deshaun Watson, Swinney winners of top individual awards
Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, left, is congratulated by head coach Dabo Swinney, after throwing a touchdown pass during the first half of a Nov. 21 game against Wake Forest in Clemson, S.C. - photo by Rainier Ehrhardt

GREENSBORO, N.C. — The Atlantic Coast Conference’s coaches have picked Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson as their player of the year.

The league announced the coaches’ all-ACC picks and individual award-winners Wednesday.

They also picked Duke safety Jeremy Cash as the defensive player of the year while a pair of Pittsburgh players — safety Jordan Whitehead and running back Qadree Ollison — as the rookies of the year.

Clemson’s Dabo Swinney was voted coach of the year.

Watson and Swinney have led No. 1 Clemson (13-0) to the ACC title and a berth in the College Football Playoff.

Pittsburgh receiver Tyler Boyd was the only player chosen to the first team on all 13 possible ballots. Coaches were not allowed to vote for anyone on their teams.

Friends to Follow social media