By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Luna's group plays Chestatee
Placeholder Image

This week the Luna’s Tuesday golf group played at Chestatee Golf Course in Dawsonville.

First place went to the team of Tom Sexton, Sam McGee, Tommy Lowery, and Jerry Ward. Second place went to the team of Gene Weschler, Cleve Brown, Jerry Johns, and Doug Van and third place went to the team of Stan Davidson Jr., Nelson Wright, Doug McMahan, and Jim Cornett. Closest to the pin winners were Davidson Jr. (No. 3), Van (No. 7), Sexton (No. 11), McGee (No. 17) and Grady Smith (No. 15).

CHATTAHOOCHEE MENS GOLF ASSOCIATION: The Chattahoochee Mens Golf Association played a two best ball, net points game Thursday at the Chattahoochee Golf Course in Gainesville.
Tied for first place were the teams of Gene Weschler, Milton Martin, Denny Momper and Don Graff, and Bob Henderson, Dave Gleason, Ron Bachman and Dick Bachman.

Third place went to the team of Roy Lyle, Leroy Harper, Dave Long and Wayne Nelson.
In fourth place, was the team of Bill Sutton, Bob Watson, Warren Jahn and Jim Hollobaugh. Closest to the pin winners were Denny Momper (No. 3), Greg Taira (No. 5), Dick Bachman (No. 12) and Roy Lyle (No. 17).

DPG GOLF GROUP: The DPG Golf Group played Monday and Wednesday of this past week at Chicopee Woods Golf Course in Oakwood.

Monday’s individual play resulted in Charley Kilby winning first place. Billy Corbin was second and Bob Kidd and Horace Smallwood tied for third.

On Wednesday, Ken Lightfoot took first place in the individual match. Lightfoot and partner Dave Jetter tied the team of Jerry Shell and Dwight Miller for first place in the team competition.

WEDNESDAY DOGFIGHT: The Wednesday Dogfight golf group played at Chicopee Woods Golf Course this week.

First place went to the team of Roger Stapp, Gayle Gibson, Bill Jorgenson and Lavan Webster. Second place went to the team of Larry Miller, Bob Arendt, Tim Reed and Don Schrum.

Arendt also took top honors in the individual competition followed by Terry Clegg and Stapp, who tied for second while Bill Jorgenson and Geoff Archibald tied for fourth place.

Friends to Follow social media