By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good news
Miss Falcon Pageant winners, from left, are Shaylea Filson, Alexis Hart, Jordan Harris, Whitney Williams, Kassie O'Connor, Janine Glenn, Ama Trear, Sara Sullivan, Phuong Nguyen, Staley Alexander, Chelsea Johnson, Megan Norkunas and Tori Parrish.

Twenty-five contestants competed in the seventh annual Miss Falcon Pageant held Oct. 4 at Flowery Branch High School. Each grade level competed in formal wear. The senior class competed for the title of Miss Falcon in the areas of formal wear, talent and on-stage interview. Pageant Director Stacie Mavis organized the show and her husband Bryan Mavis served as the master of ceremonies.

  • Winners are Miss Falcon Janine Glenn, Miss Junior Alexis Hart, Miss Sophomore Shaylea Filson and Miss Freshman Jordan Harris.
  • Runners-up are Miss Falcon first runner-up Kassie O'Connor, Miss Falcon second runner-up Ama Trear, Miss Junior first runner-up Phuong Nguyen, Miss Junior second runner-up Sara Sullivan, Miss Sophomore first runner-up Tori Parrish, Miss Sophomore second runner-up Megan Norkunas, Miss Freshmen first runner-up Staley Alexander and Miss Freshmen second runner-up Chelsea Johnson.
  • Winners in individual events are Miss Congeniality Janine Glenn, Miss Photogenic Tori Parrish, Whitney Williams in interview, Shaylea Filson in formal wear and Kassie O'Connor in talent.

Art in the Square was held Oct. 4 in Gainesville. Delores Diaz judged.

  • Winners are Shirley Shepherd, first place for watercolor; Stan Suskey, second place for photography; Amanda Carder, third place for oil painting.
  • Honorable mentions are Pamela Keene for photography, Jerry and Gail Deeds for photography, Cheryl Hardin and Rhea Metcalf for oil painting, Lisa Pirkel for copper sculpture from reclaimed materials and Mary Beth Stagler for jewelry.

The Frames You-Nique silent auction of 6-by-8-inch paintings for Challenged Child and Friends raised $3,800. Diaz also judged these painting.

  • Winners are Jeann Blankenship, first place for oil painting; Elaine Howard, second place for oil painting; and Betty Smith, third place for watermedia collage.
  • Honorable mentions are Linda Blount for watercolor and Cathy Ritch for oil painting.

The Crabapple Garden Club recently celebrated National Bird Day with its Crabapple Seedlings, students of Denise Wilkins at Enota Elementary School. The students learned about local birds, made bird feeders and cut out pictures of birds to post outside their classroom.

Regional events