Hall returning to in-person school on hybrid schedule Jan. 19
Hall County Schools will return to an in-person hybrid schedule beginning Tuesday, Jan. 19, after the school system reported stabilizing COVID-19 numbers and “significantly” decreased student cases, Superintendent Will Schofield announced Thursday morning.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good news
Karleigh Calhoun was named the recent winner in the Hall County chapter of the Georgia Right to Life’s annual Por-Life Oratory and Writing contest. A student at North Georgia Christian School, Karleigh’s win allowed her to compete at the state contest on May 1 in Lawrenceville. She is standing with Kay Valentine of Hall County Right to Life. - photo by For The Times

The Gainesville Newcomers Club recently held its 2010 fashion show, highlighting a cruising theme.

Sponsored by Belk and Peach State Bank & Trust, 19 models showed spring and summer "must haves" as the "fashion cruise" took off for the day. Exotic ports of call included floral patterns, bold color, ruffles, denim, bold necklaces and sandals with sparkle. Male models were dressed in madras shorts, casual blazers and hand-tied bow ties.


The Col. William Candler chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution recently hosted its annual Awards Tea at First Presbyterian church in Gainesville. Winners are as follows:

American History Essay Chapter winners: Meredith M. Pannek, Enota Multiple Intelligences Academy; Cole W. Burchardt, homeschooled; G. Maysun Hale, Chestatee Middle School.

DAR Good Citizenship award for high school seniors: Parrish Brown (overall winner), Gainesville High School; Mary Katherine Johnson, Johnson High School; Christopher Richard Lee, Lakeview Academy; Benjamin A. Lloyd, North Georgia Christian School; Olivia Anne Hartley, North Hall High School.

DAR good citizenship award for eighth-graders: Lacie Howell, North Hall Middle School; Brooke Bell, Maranatha Christian Academy; Weston Hoyt Dale, East Hall Middle School; Mariah Katlynn Murrow, West Hall Middle School; Caleb Herrin, South Hall Middle School; Dalton Avery Snyder, Lakeview Academy; Hannah Mallory, C.W. Davis Middle School; Taylor Martin, North Georgia Christian School; Matt Caudell, Chestatee Middle School; Daniel Griffith McCrary, Lumpkin County Middle School; Lauren Carter, Gainesville Middle School.

Junior American Citizens Award: Anna Diaz, poetry; Maysun Hale and Mason Nutter, essay; Joseph Crews, stamp; Brandon Diaz and G. Maysun Hale, poster.

American History Good Citizens: Brady Holcomb and Margaret Thornton, Enota.

Community Service Awards: John Michael Whitmire and Margaret Mary Corbin.

Conservation Award: Kathy Sapp Lovett

Outstanding Teacher of the Year: Maj. Kevin Jarrard.

Regional events