By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
The East Hall Middle School chorus and band were named the Best Middle School Choir Overall and the Best Middle School Band Overall at a recent competition.

Tricia Dial and Lauren Carey, fifth-graders at Mount Vernon Elementary, recently participated in the Georgia State Social Studies Fair at Clayton State University in Morrow. They won the Best in Class I Economics Award with their project, "Man vs. Mussels: Who Needs Lake Lanier's Water More?" They were honored at the Luncheon Meeting of the Georgia Council On Economic Education in May. They interviewed Kelley Randall, director of Gainesville's Public Utilities, as well as Kit Dunlap, CEO of the Greater Hall County Chamber of Commerce. They also toured the Gainesville Water Works as part of their research.

The following students recently graduated from Piedmont College, which has campuses in Demorest and Athens.

  • The following students received bachelor's degrees: Lauren Armour of Clermont; Kalen D. Fletcher, Donald Andrew House, Erin Kubala, Sarah Lane, Hannah Colette Reaume and Heather Wicker, all of Gainesville; and Nedra Riddle of Lula.
  • The following students recently received master's degrees from Piedmont College: Daniel Lee Brown, Anna A. Jones, Susan Kimberly Minton and Ashley Neal Ryhe, all of Flowery Branch; Jennifer Michelle Porter of Gainesville; and Christopher Turpin of Gillsville.
  • The following students recently received specialist degrees from Piedmont College: Jennifer Renee Clark, Jennifer Lee Ezell, Kimberly Dian Garrison, Kristy Pitts and Annette Taylor, all of Flowery Branch; Jeffery Neal Anthony, David William Brinson, Carol Brinson, Catherine Dial, Angelyn O. Hill, Deena Holden, Reid Anthony Houston, Amy Pardue, Lisa Ann Shows, Kresta Ronnice Stephens and Pamela Thompson, all of Gainesville; and Janalee W. Brown, Linda Stiehr and Sally Elizabeth Tallant, all of Oakwood.

The University of West Georgia in Carrollton recently held its 21st annual Campus Activities Awards. Kenemie Littlejohn of Flowery Branch received the Personal Trainer of the Year award.

Jere Griffin, a 1974 graduate of East Hall High School, has graduated from Valdosta State University with a degree in accounting.

The following area students graduated May 17 from Truett-McConnell College in Cleveland during its 60th annual commencement: Sherry McEntire of Alto; Christopher Davidson, Heather Duke, Sheena Thomas and Ashely Woodruff, all of Gainesville; Erin Fountain of Flowery Branch; Adam Sibcy of Maysville; Scott Sienkiewicz of Braselton and Ryne Stone of Murrayville.

The following area students recently graduated from Reinhardt College in Waleska: Devin Pass of Gainesville and Jonathan Post of Gillsville.

The following students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Reinhardt: Shawn Clark and Heath Roper, both of Gainesville. To be listed on the dean's list students must maintain a 3.5 grade-point average with no grade less than a B.

The following students graduated in May from LaGrange College in LaGrange: Adrianne Brown of Buford and Sarah Holden of Jefferson.

Mack Hyder III of Clermont graduated May 12 from Emory University in Atlanta. He is the son of Mack Hyder Jr. and Melinda Hyder.

The following Hall County students have received academic awards for the spring semester at Piedmont College. Students named as dean's scholars have earned a 4.0 grade-point average, and students named to the dean's list have earned a grade-point average of 3.5 to 3.99.

  • Dean's scholars include: Staci Smith of Clermont; Shirley Adcock of Flowery Branch; Erin Kubala, Kimi Takikawa, Brandi Syfan, Gregory Janney, Cally Dunnett, Hannah Colette Reaume and Michael Fred Mansfield, all of Gainesville; Laura B. Evans of Lula; and Brooke Smith of Murrayville.
  • Dean's list students include: Whitney Armour and Stephanie M. Smith, both of Clermont; Phillip Albertson of Flowery Branch; Sarah Lane, Kalen D. Fletcher and Donald Andrew House, all of Gainesville; Megan Thompson of Lula; James McGuigan and Holly Farmer, both of Murrayville; and Josh H. McEachin of Oakwood.

Colleen Cannington Bryant, daughter of Curtis Fred and Jean Cannington of Buford, earned her Doctorate of Education in May from The College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. Bryant graduated from Stephens County High School in Toccoa in 1974 and from North Georgia College in 1978. Upon graduation from North Georgia College, Bryant was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army. Upon leaving active duty she earned a master's degree from Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, N.C. in 1986 and an Education Specialist degree from The College of William and Mary in 1999.

The following area students graduated in May from Valdosta State University in Valdosta: Lindsey Crumley of Alto; Katie Boles and Lindsay White, both of Buford; Chad Kahn of Flowery Branch; Shannon Clark and Sarah Forshee, both of Gainesville.

The following area students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Valdosta:Shannon Clark, Celina Curtis, Branden Eichler, Michael Leary, Christopher Nish, Carmen Saras and Abbey Williams, all of Gainesville; Lindsey Crumley of Alto; Elizabeth Dunn, William Hendrix and Samantha Nash, all of Flowery Branch; Bryan Garris, Amy Kruger, Ryan Mitchell, Daniel Nabers, Kyle O'Bryan and Melanie Terwoord, all of Buford. To make the dean's list, students must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.0 and must have a semester grade point average of at least 3.66 with at least 10 hours of course work.

The following area students graduated May 9 from the Medical College of Georgia in Augusta: Kerri Key of Maysville; Britney Whitaker of Oakwood; Jennifer Stowe and Kirsten Dorminy, both of Pendergrass; Heather Clower of Murrayville; Jessica Mullins of Lula; and Britney Whitaker of Oakwood.

The following area students recently graduated from Georgia Southern University in Statesboro: Trip Addison, Tiffany Barrett, Ryan Conner, Megan Dunahoo, Ashley Howard, Jamie Kitchel, Ohki Komoto, Joshua Thomas, Catherine Tilson and Tao Ventre, all of Gainesville; Kimberly Alabiso and Emily Mcgee, both of Flowery Branch; and Brianna Van Alstyne of Lula.

The East Hall Middle School chorus and band competed earlier this year against other middle school performing ensembles in Pigeon Forge, Tenn. The East Hall chorus received first place in their division and was also awarded Best Middle School Choir Overall. The East Hall band also received first place in their division and was awarded Best Middle School Band Overall. They were the only school to sweep the competition and leave with four trophies.

Regional events