By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Placeholder Image

The Hall County Library Association has named Rachel Chambers, library media specialist at Myers Elementary School, as Hall County Media Specialist for 2008-2009. She will now compete for the state honor from the Georgia Library Media Association. Chambers, a Brenau University graduate, earned school library media certification along with her master's degree in instructional technology from the University of Georgia. Prior to coming to Myers Elementary as media specialist in 2004, she began her eight years in the system teaching seventh-grade literature and language arts at South Hall Middle School. Linda Martin of Sugar Hill Elementary was last year's recipient of the honor; she went on to be named Media Specialist of the Year for Georgia.

The following students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at LaGrange College in LaGrange: Eric Clark and William Simons, both of Gainesville.

Chuck Rose of Oakwood has been named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Bryan College in Dayton, Tenn. He is the son of Lawrence and Robyn Rose.

Regional events