By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
The North Hall Middle School academic team recently won second place in the PAGE Region 4 Academic Team competition. This region includes middle schools of Hall, Fulton, Forsyth and part of Gwinnett counties, along with Gainesville Middle and Lakeview Academy.
Cathy Hackaday Clayton of Cumming and Michael C. Hughes of Blairsville have recently graduated from Excelsior College in Albany, N.Y.

Students from five Hall County schools recently competed in the FBLA region competition in Danielsville.
Chestatee High School: Lindsay Neece, first place, Job Interview
East Hall High School: Jaime Avalos, fifth, Computer Applications; Gabriela Bonilla, third, Public Speaking I; Karen Flores, fourth, Impromptu Speaking; Amber Kerby, second, Database Designs and Client Service; Jonathan Hinshaw, Moises Jaramillo and DJ Shirley, fifth, Web Design; Tatiana Madera, Maria Rivera and Owen Young, fifth, Business Ethics; Gaby Bonilla, Nancy Covarrubias and Bernie Flores, first, Monopoly Tournament.
Flowery Branch High School: Jacob Hamaan, second, Web Site Development; Megan Kirk, third, Business Math; Alexa Lee, third, Word Processing I; Krystina Nease, fifth, Public Speaking II; Tracy Sooknanan, eighth, Computer Applications; Justin Twiggs, third, Accounting I; Leo Veiga, second, Job Interview; Amanda Brown and Kelsey Karr, second, Business Ethics; Derrick Bland and Patrick Doyle, third, Emerging Business Issues; Amber Sengkhammee and Tori Thebeau, sixth, Desktop Publishing.
Johnson High School: Maria Camarillo, second, Computer Application; Ivette Galvan, fourth, Accounting I; Stephen Griffin, third, Client Service; MiMi Sam, sixth, Intro to Technology Concepts and second, Word Processing I; Katie Turner, fourth, Public Speaking I and fifth, Word Processing II
West Hall High School: Nathalie Brock and Mallory Mize, seventh, Desktop Publishing

Anna Bower, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Bower, has been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester at Furman University in Greenville, S.C. To be eligible for this honor, students must earn a 3.4 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale.

The following students recently graduated from Valdosta State University in Valdosta for the fall 2009 semester.
Allison Rebecca Hallman and Betty Hirschmann of Gainesville and Nicole Ann Schuknecht of Blairsville.
The following students were named to the dean’s list at Valdosta State for the Fall 2009 semester:
Caitlin Brittany Jockell, Jennifer Babe Josman, Ryan Thomas Glenn, Joshua Landers Preston, Elizah Rae Simon, Luke Patrick Donohue and Elizabeth Claire Dunn of Flowery Branch;
Sarah Caroline Jackson, Christopher William Nish, Abbey Victoria Williams, Ansley B. Williams and Branden Robert Eichler of Gainesville;
Heather Catherine Maclachlan and Ross Christopher Hardin of Hoschton;
Alexander Odin Bates and Bethany Eileen Brett of Commerce;
Britni Melissa Hawkins and Brandi Elizabeth Jackson of Maysville;
Amy Elizabeth Dickinson of Dahlonega;
Elleanor Christine Hopper and Roxanne Michelle Zeger of Blairsville;
James Edward Kern of Cleveland;
and Samantha Marie Shouppe of Sautee Nacoochee.
Regional events