By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
8-AA All-Region cross country team announced
Placeholder Image

Seventeen area runners were recognized in the Region 8-AA All-Region Cross Country Teams released Friday.

The boys first team included Banks County’s Jorge and Edgar Diaz and Jefferson’s Wesley Milton. The girls first team included Jessica Runkel and Allison Missler, also of Jefferson, and Dawson County’s Maddy Waters and Emily Beusse.

The Jefferson girls were also represented by Kathy Buffington (second team), Lauren Phillips (third team) and Mariah Porras (third team).

Dawson County’s Tyler Thurmond, Luke Williamson and Logan Porter were each named to the boys third team.

The Tigers were also represented by Krista Morgan (second team) and Morgan Bennett (third team).

Banks County’s Amy Sims and Maggie McCoy represented the Leopards on the girls third team.

Region 8-AA All-Region

Cross Country Team

Boys first team

Jorge Diaz, Banks County

Josh Wheeler, Oglethorpe County

Brandon Banks, East Jackson

Kevin Kesler, East Jackson

Wesley Milton, Jefferson

Peter Liddle, North Oconee

Ivan Diaz, Banks County

Boys second team

Tripp Hurt, North Oconee

Beau Kelley, Union County

Josh Holloway, Oglethorpe County

Dustin Wester, Union County

Jason Wright, North Oconee

Powell Cobb, North Oconee

Terry Miller, East Jackson

Boys third team

Tyler Thurmond, Dawson County

Ricky Mitchell, Rabun County

Patrick Carton, North Oconee

Luke Williamson, Dawson County

Shane Kelley, Union County

Logan Porter, Dawson County

Andy Van Deventer, East Jackson

Boys Runner of the year

Ian Wraga, North Oconee

Girls first team

Rachel Greenwall, North Oconee

Sherri Blalock, East Jackson

Jessica Runkel, Jefferson

Maddy Waters, Dawson County

Allison Missler, Jefferson

Emily Beusse, Dawson County

Rachel Rogers, Rabun County

Girls second team

Krista Morgan, Dawson County

Kassie Mull, East Jackson

Skyler Cozzens, East Jackson

Ell Ruiz, Rabun County

Sheila Donovan, North Oconee

Kathy Buffington, Jefferson

Morgan Thomas, North Oconee

Girls third team

Mary Anne Schramke, Union County

Amy Sims, Banks County

Lauren Phillips, Jefferson

Maggie McCoy, Banks County

Marissa Moore, Rabun County

Morgan Bennett, Dawson County

Mariah Porras, Jefferson

Girls runner of the year

Rebecca Greenwall, North Oconee

Friends to Follow social media