By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia Tech named host site for NCAA regional
Placeholder Image
Georgia Tech has been selected as one of 16 NCAA Baseball Tournament regional sites, the NCAA announced Sunday afternoon.

The four-team field for the Atlanta Regional, which will be played at Tech's Russ Chandler Stadium, will be announced 12:30 p.m. Monday on ESPN. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7.

Georgia Tech, 45-13 after going 1-2 in the ACC Tournament earlier this week, will make its 24th NCAA Tournament appearance in the last 26 years and its 26th NCAA appearance overall.

Russ Chandler Stadium will host a regional for the eighth time in the last 11 years. Georgia Tech will host NCAA postseason play for the 11th time overall.

The Yellow Jackets will host a regional for the second straight year, losing last year to Southern Mississippi in the championship round.

Georgia Tech is one of three ACC school's awarded regional sites, joining Virginia and Miami. The SEC led all conferences with four host selections.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Arizona State (47-8), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (40-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Auburn (40-19), Auburn, Ala.; Cal State Fullerton (40-15 through Saturday, May 29), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (51-7), Conway, S.C.; Connecticut (47-14), Storrs, Conn.; Florida (42-15), Gainesville, Fla.; Georgia Tech (45-13), Atlanta; Louisville (48-12), Louisville, Ky.; Miami (Florida) (40-17), Coral Gables, Fla.; Oklahoma (44-15), Norman, Okla.; South Carolina (43-15), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (46-11), Austin, Texas; TCU (46-11), Fort Worth, Texas; UCLA (42-13), Los Angeles; Virginia (47-11), Charlottesville, Va.

Regional events