By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia softball named Team of the Year
Placeholder Image

The University of Georgia softball team has been named the Easton Team of the Year according to an announcement made by Easton on Thursday.  

The Bulldogs made their eighth-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division I Softball Championships, all under head coach Lu Harris-Champer, and they advanced to their first-ever Women's College World Series by winning the Chapel Hill Regional and Athens Super Regional.


Georgia, the nation's youngest team consisting of 90-percent underclassmen, made a run at the event and nearly reached the finals.


After falling to the eventual national champion Washington Huskies in the opening game, the Bulldogs rallied to eliminate both the Missouri Tigers and the Michigan Wolverines to set up a rematch with the Huskies.

Georgia needed to win two games over Washington to advance to the championships series of the WCWS but was only able to come away with one victory, a 9-8 extra-inning comeback.

It marked the only time in 2009 a team was able to defeat Washington after the Huskies scored first and it was the only loss of the WCWS for Washington.

Friends to Follow social media