By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Shell aces No. 12 at Chattahoochee
Placeholder Image

Martha Shell made a hole-in-one on the 12th hole at the Chattahoochee Golf Club on May 14. She made the ace from 128 yards with a 7-iron. Ann White and Riki Von Stroud witnessed the feat. This marks Shell’s second hole-in-one in the past year. She aced the same hole on July 20, 2013.

On May 20, the Chattahoochee Ladies Golf Association played their flighted, low-net spring tournament.

In the first flight, Ann Hollobaugh came in first, followed by Ann White in second.

Jackie Sommerville won the second flight, and Ann McMullan was second. In the third flight, Kirsten Coleman was first, and Bebe Blount took second.

Closest to the pin winners were White (No. 3) and Hollobaugh (No. 17).

LUNA’S TUESDAY: Richard Strickland, Joe Roberts, Jerry Johns and Don Rogers won the Luna’s Tuesday golf group’s match last week at Royal Lakes.

Stan Davidson Jr., Sam McGee, Larry Miller and Johnny Nix came in second. Third place went to Donny Smith, Tommy Aaron, Ken Chahoy and Jim Cornett.

Closest to the pin winners were Chahoy (No. 4), Randy Gordy (No. 8), Roberts (No. 14) and Nix (No. 17).

DPG: The Dedicated Players Group played matches on Monday, Wednesday and Friday last week at Chicopee Woods.

On Monday, Dwight Miller placed first, and Terrence Dale was second. Don Shumake won on Wednesday, Dale was second, and Miller was third.

Dennis Jones came in first on Friday, and Denis Jones and Jerry Shell tied for second place.

CMGA: The Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association played an individual flighted strokes game last Wednesday at the Chattahoochee Golf Course.

In the first flight, Doug Van came in first, Scott Adams was second, and Mike Kuczmarski and Jack Costello tied for third.

Bob Pyne won the second flight, and Carlyle Cox, Jim Carroll and Jim Hollobaugh all tied for second place.

In the third flight, Eddie Johnson was first, Karl Goellner took second, and Don Sorrell, Dave Long and Jim Griffin tied for third.

Bob Watson won the fourth flight, Johnny Little followed in second, and Ben Brooks came in third.

Closest to the pin winners were Little (No. 3), Kuczmarski (No. 5), Bill Kinser (No. 12) and Jim Griffin (No. 17).

REUNION: The Reunion Senior Men’s Golf Association played their 3-2-1 Blast Off event for Spring on May 14 at the Reunion Country Club.

Ted Sawyer, David Morehead, Gene Cronic and Steven Zachock came in first with a team score of 110. Lawrence Viola, Michael Defantis, Ken Murray and Ken Michelsen placed second. Michael Reiland, Ken Raymond, Robert Wischerth and Lowell Twining followed in third.

Bob Seebeck won closest to the pin, and Dale Miller won straightest drive.