By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Clark retains Trinity Trot title
Placeholder Image
Approximately 60 runners participated Saturday in the 13th Annual Trinity Trot Race, a local 5K road race sponsored by McEver Road United Methodist Men as a fundraiser for its mission work. Weather, although windy at times, was nearly perfect for the race held at Gainesville State College.

North Hall High junior and 2006 overall champion Nolan Clark returned to defend his title and his 2006 record-setting time of 16:26. Clark held on to his title with a time of 16:54.

When asked what was the toughest part of the race for him, Clark replied, "Going down the big hill in tiny shoes." Clark ran the race in borrowed shoes, having left his running shoes in a friend’s car.

Bethany Bishop Griggs of Smyrna had the best time among female competitors (21:28). Griggs said the wind in the open areas was a factor.

Griggs, a University of Georgia alumnus, is the head coach of cross country for both boys and girls at Campbell High in Smyrna.

Family runners were prevalent at this year’s race. Katelyn Roth won both the 14-and-under girls’ division (27:40) and the 1 Mile Fun Run (female). Emily Roth won the 15-19 year-old girls’ division with a time of 23:30. The Ford’s 3-year-old twins, John and James, placed first and second in the 1 Mile Fun Run (male).

The Uys family of Gainesville took places in several divisions with Rudolph Uys placing second in 45-49 year-old men’s division (26:26), Phillip Uys placing sixth in 15-19 year-old boys’ division (22:24), Elzabe Uys placing second in 14-and-under girls’ division (29:58), and Estine Uys placing second in 45-49 year-old women’s division (31:29).

Lillee Clark, mother of Nolan Clark, again won the 45-49 year-old women’s division (29:00).

Kenneth Slavik (17:42) won the 14-and-under boys division, followed by Brandon Lawson (18:42) and Devin Traub (21:50). Corey Gannon (30:43) and Kody Emerson (36:30) placed third and fourth in 14-and-under girls’ division, with Katelyn Roth (27:40) and Elzabe Uys (29:58) taking first and second.

Daniel Martinez won 15-19 year-old boys’ division (17:12) followed by Andy Martin (17:21), Keegan Kyle (18:16), Brian Jimenez (18:32), Thomas Earnhart (20:25), and Phillip Uys (22:24). Jayla Freeman (25:02) placed second in 15-19 year-old girls’ division, with Emily Roth (23:30) taking first.

Dustonia Call won the women’s 30-34 year-old division (31:01). Janet Meade finished first in the women’s 40-44 year-old division (25:40). Lillee Clark won the 45-49 year-old women’s division (29:00). Ann LeVasseur won the 50-54 year-old women’s division (26:51). Judy Hulsey (33:26) finished first in the 55-59 year-old women’s division, and Versie Cornatzer won the women’s 60-64 year-old division with a time of 35:24.

Travis Hutchinson finished at 35:00 in the men’s 20-24 year-old division, and Blake Light finished at 37:45 for the men’s 30-34 year-old division. Jim Ford finished first in the men’s 40-44 year-old division (21:32). Tony Martin won the men’s 45-49 year-old division (21:56). Rick Kendall won the men’s 50-54 year-old division (22:30). Art Dacosta placed first in the men’s 55-59 year-old division (21:37). John Gram won the men’s 60-64 year-old division (23:36). Dan Marlow won the men’s 65-69 year-old division (22:38).

Avid runner and senior reporter for WSB-TV Don McClellan participated again and took the title for the men’s 75-and-older division with a time of 40:49.

Friends to Follow social media