By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Falcons sign 10 rookie free agents
Placeholder Image

FLOWERY BRANCH — The Atlanta Falcons picked up 10 rookie free agents Tuesday, including Alabama quarterback John Parker Wilson. The team also signed an Arena League veteran, released two defensive linemen and waived two other players to fine-tune its roster after the draft.

Parker, a three-year starter, led the Crimson Tide to a 12-0 regular season as a senior before closing his career with losses to Florida in the Southeastern Conference championship game and Utah in the Sugar Bowl.

He was among 10 players signing with the Falcons after being passed over in the draft. The others were San Diego State receiver Darren Mougey, Clemson receiver Aaron Kelly, Colorado defensive end Maurice Lucas, Auburn long snapper Robert Shiver, West Virginia offensive lineman Ryan Stanchek, Arkansas offensive lineman Jose Valdez, Florida State linebacker Derek Nicholson, Northern Arizona punter-kicker Robbie Dehaze and Missouri linebacker Brock Christopher.

In addition, the Falcons signed receiver Troy Bergeron, who spent three seasons with the Georgia Force in the Arena League.

The Falcons released defensive end Simon Fraser and defensive tackle Kindal Moorehead after bulking up those positions in the draft. Moorehead played in 14 games, making 18 tackles and one sack. Fraser played in six games.

The team waived defensive back Darius Vinnett and offensive lineman Nathan Bennett, who spent the last month of the season on the practice squad.

Friends to Follow social media