By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
South Hall officials sworn in for new council terms
Placeholder Image

Oakwood swore in its mayor and two council members to four-year terms Monday.

City Clerk Tangee Puckett presided as Mayor Lamar Scroggs and Councilmen Sam Evans and Ron McFarland took their oaths at City Hall.

Scroggs, Evans and McFarland were re-elected in November without opposition.

Following the ceremony, council members named Councilman Gary Anderson mayor pro tem.

Neighboring South Hall city Flowery Branch is planning a similar meeting for Wednesday.

Mayor Diane Hirling, elected to her second four-year term without opposition, will be sworn in, along with new council members Mike Miller, Kris Yardley and Tara Richards.

The ceremony is set to begin at 9:30 a.m. Wednesday at City Hall, 5517 Main St.

A brief meeting will follow, including a possible move to set meeting dates and times in 2010.

Regional events