By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Regional water planners named
Placeholder Image

Gov. Sonny Perdue, Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and House Speaker Glenn Richardson have announced their selections for members of Georgia’s regional water planning councils.

"The individuals we have selected are solution-oriented and will provide visionary water resource planning," Perdue said. "These appointments reflect a diverse group of Georgians, and each one has a unique skill set and knowledge base, which will allow the councils to focus on water resource issues while also addressing the state’s economic needs."

The Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan, approved by the General Assembly in 2008, created 10 water planning regions. Each of these regions will have a water planning council to represent the interests unique to their respective regions. Hall County is a member of the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District, which was already established and is chaired by Kit Dunlap of Gainesville.

Each council consists of 25 members, three alternates and an ex-officio member from both the House and Senate. The councils include representatives from agriculture, forestry, industry, commerce, local governments, water utilities, regional development centers, tourism, recreation and environmental groups.

The councils will oversee preparation of regional water development and conservation plans for their planning regions. Plans will focus on water quantity and water quality issues, and will include forecasts of future water supply and wastewater treatment needs.

Those from Northeast Georgia appointed to the Coosa-North Georgia council include Todd Pealock of Clarkesville, Gerald R. Dunham of Cornelia, Frank M. Riley of Blairsville, Lamar Parris of Blairsville, Tom O’Bryant of Cleveland, Stephen Gray of Clarkesville, Mike Berg of Dawsonville, Tim Bowden of Dahlonega, Kenneth Beasely of Dahlonega and Pat Gober of Dawsonville.

State Sen. Eugene "Chip" Pearson, R-Dawsonville, was named an ex-officio member of the panel.