Hall Schools announces hybrid start to school year
The Hall County School District has announced it will begin the first two weeks of the school year with a hybrid of in-person and virtual classes, beginning Aug. 24.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Property tax statements to be mailed Sept. 13
07282019 TAX 1.jpg
Hall County Tax Assessors Office deputy appraisal clerk Clarissa Flores, left, helps Bobbie Stafford with her paperwork Friday, July 26, 2019, at the Hall County Government Center. - photo by Scott Rogers

The Hall County Tax Commissioner’s Office will mail 89,000 tax statements for real and personal property Sept. 13. The bills are due Nov. 15.

The Tax Commissioner’s Office offers several ways to pay:

Online: Residents may make online payments at Payment methods include E-Check ($1.50 flat fee) and debit/credit card (2.5% of amount plus $.30 per transaction). The office accepts American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa and PayPal Credit. 

By mail: Using the return envelope provided with the statement, mail to P.O. Box 1579, Gainesville, GA 30503.

By phone: Make credit and debit card payments at 770-531-6950.

In person: Visit the office or use the drop box located in front of the main doors of the Hall County Government Center at 2875 Browns Bridge Road, Gainesville, GA 30504. 

For properties that changed ownership during the year, whoever owns the property on Jan. 1 is responsible for that year’s property tax. If property is sold after Jan. 1, it is the responsibility of the buyer and seller to determine who will pay the owed tax by the due date.  

For owners with property tax escrow accounts, tax information is made available to mortgage companies. The property owner is responsible for ensuring taxes are paid by the due date. 

If you own property within the city limits of Gainesville, Flowery Branch, Buford or Oakwood, you will receive a separate city tax bill from that municipality.   

The Hall County Tax Commissioner’s Office is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Compiled from Hall County press release

Regional events