By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City, sales tax votes on ballot Nov. 5. Here’s your voters guide
11082017 VOTING 0003.jpg

City elections and a countywide vote on a special purpose local option sales tax will be held Nov. 5, with early voting starting Oct. 14.

There are no contested races in Clermont, Lula, Gillsville or Oakwood so elections will not be held in those cities.

Hall County voters can cast ballots 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday until Nov. 1 at the Hall County Government Center, 2875 Browns Bridge Road, in Gainesville. On Election Day, voters will need to cast ballots at their polling precincts. Braselton and Buford voters can vote on SPLOST there but will need to vote for council candidates elsewhere.

Early voting for Braselton residents will take place Oct. 14-25 at the Jackson County Elections Office, 441 Gordon St., Jefferson, and then Oct. 28-Nov. 1 will move to the Police and Municipal Court building, 4982 Highway 53, Braselton. 

Early voting for Buford residents will take place at Buford City Hall, 2300 Buford Highway. 

On Election Day, voters will cast ballots at their voting precinct. Voters can check their precinct information and view a sample ballot at the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page.

The SPLOST vote will be on all Hall County ballots.

Full story: What penny sales tax SPLOST VIII would pay for if approved by voters Nov. 5

Beyond that vote, here’s what city residents can expect:


On the ballot: Juli Clay and Bill Bush for City Council Ward 5; Willie Mitchell and Chad Payne for Board of Education District 3

What you need to know: Candidates are elected at large, meaning residents of any ward or district can vote.

Full stories: How candidates for Gainesville City Council hope to plan for new residents, businesses and How Gainesville school board candidates hope to make a difference

Flowery Branch

On the ballot: Ed Asbridge and David Griscom for City Council Post 2

What you need to know: Candidates are elected at large.

Full story: What Flowery Branch council candidates think about growth


On the ballot: Becky Richardson, Joy Basham and Richard Mayberry for Town Council District 1; Tony  Funari and Jim Joedecke for Town Council District 3

What you need to know: Town Council candidates are elected by voters in their respective districts.

Full story: What candidates for Braselton Town Council are saying about the city’s issues


On the ballot: Daren Perkins and Melissa Ferris-Ozkan for one seat on the Board of Education and Matt Peevy, David Jerome Carter and Honglien T. Diaz for the other

What you need to know: Candidates are elected at large.

Reporters Jeff Gill and Megan Reed contributed.

Regional events