By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dunahoo, Banks head to runoff for House 25 seat
Hamrick re-elected; Sunday alcohol sales OK'd in Gainesville, Flowery Branch, Oakwood
Patricia Hawkins checks in Tuesday afternoon at the Wilson 1 precinct at Free Chapel Worship Center to vote in the state House District 25 special election.

South Hall voters were choosing Tuesday among seven men to replace outgoing state Rep. James Mills, with businessman Emory Dunahoo Jr. and former Hall County Commissioner Bobby Banks appeared to be headed toward a Dec. 6 runoff.

With 99 percent of the votes counted, Dunahoo had 21.3 percent of the votes and Banks. 19.7 percent, holding a slim lead over businessman Todd W. Reed with 18.7.

Mills left the seat when he was appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal to the state Pardons and Paroles board.

Voters in Gainesville, Flowery Branch and Oakwood approved Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages at grocery and package stores.

Gainesville City Councilman Robert "Bob" Hamrick earned re-election to the seat he has held since 1969, defeating challenger Debra Harkrider.

In Flowery Branch, Chris Fetterman was re-elected to the council, and Damon Gibbs defeated incumbent Amanda Swafford. Sunday alcohol sales passed overwhelmingly with nearly 70 percent of voters in favor.

Lula Councilman Larry Shuler was re-elected, earning 59 votes (61.5 percent) to 37 votes (38.5) percent for challenger Veneda Simonelli. Only 96 of the city's 1,241 voters cast a ballot. Sunday sales passed in Oakwood 54-46 with a few votes left to be counted.

In Dawsonville, Sunday alcohol sales passed and Jason Power and Chris Gaines won at-large seats to the City Council, beating out two incumbents.

Election results

State House District 25
(99 percent of precincts counted; top 2 headed to runoff Dec. 6)

Paul Wayne Godfrey (D), 7.5%

√ Bobby Banks (R), 19.7%

√ Emory West Dunahoo Jr. (R), 21.3%

Dominic Ottaviano (R), 5.3%

Todd W. Reed (R), 18.7%

William "Sonny" Sykes (R), 14.1%

Kris Yardley (R), 13.4%

State Senate District 50
(99 percent of precincts counted; top 2 headed to runoff Dec. 6)

Mary Beth Focer (D), 9.1%

Curtis Burger (R), 1.7%

√ Rick Austin (R), 43.3%

√ John K. Wilkinson (R), 39.2%

David R. Strickland (R), 6.8%

House District 10
(99 percent of precincts counted)

J. Bruce Harkness Sr. (R), 23.8%

Lori Duke Jones (R), 14.7%

√ Terry Rogers (R), 61.4%

City Council, three at-large seats; (0 percent of precincts counted)

√ John Brady (I), 28.2%

√ Seth Weaver (I), 34.5%

Donna Reeves, 18.1%

√ Debra Armour, 19.2%

Flowery Branch
City Council, Post 1 (100 percent of precincts counted)

√ Damon Gibbs, 57.6 %

Amanda Swafford (I), 42.4%

City Council, Post 2

Mary Jones, 40.4%

√ Chris Fetterman (I), 59.6%

Sunday package alcohol sales

√ Yes, 69.4%

No, 30.6%

City Council, Ward 2 (100 percent of precincts counted)

Debra Harkrider, 43%

√ Bob Hamrick (I), 57%

Sunday package alcohol sales

√ Yes, 69%

No, 31%

City Council, Post 1 (100 percent of precincts counted)

Veneda Simonelli, 38.5%

√ Larry Shuler (I), 61.5%

Sunday package alcohol sales (100% of votes counted)

√ Yes, 54%

No, 46%

City Council, 2 at-large posts (110 percent of precincts counted)

√ Jason Power, 35.9%

√ Chris Gaines, 28.3%

Mike Sosebee (I), 20.4%

Mike Wilson (I), 10%

Frank Craft, 5.4%

Sunday package alcohol sales

√ Yes 62.7%

No 37.3%