By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Placeholder Image

Taylor Ricketts of Gainesville has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, N.C. To be eligible for this honor, students must have a GPA of at least 3.5 with no grade below a C.

Gainesville Exploration Academy is one of 35 schools in 19 school systems across the state designated as 2010 “No Excuses” Schools by the Georgia Public Policy Foundation.
A No Excuses school has a poverty rate above the state average of 51 percent, meets Adequate Yearly Progress as defined by the No Child Left Behind law and has a poverty indicator of 2 or above on the Foundation’s Report Card for Parents. These schools are highlighted for demonstrating the positive effect of highly motivated, highly qualified, dedicated teachers, dynamic school leadership and high expectations for all students.

Kaitlyn R. Turner of Braselton recently graduated from Boston University in Boston, Mass.

Megan Ganyard of Gainesville and Christopher Cox of Flowery Branch recently graduated from Mercer University in Macon.

The following local students recently graduated from Emory University in Atlanta:
Kelly Wright, Heather Hester, Michael Tolbert, David Westfall and Rustin Smith of Gainesville;
Aba DeGraft-Hanson, Holly Steerman, Farhan Lakhani, Jessica Compton, Stephanie Granada, Carina Stanescu, Lindsey Niblack, Jonathan Merritt, Joo Young Lee, Lindsey Nelson and Erin Claridy of Buford;
Laura Jones and Olivia Tatuta of Hoschton;
Keith Szulwach, Andrew Jeppson, David Carder and Ramakrishna Alluri of Cumming;
Adam Perry and Paul Youngblood III of Commerce;
Amanda Mountain of Saute Nacoochee;
and Kory Trinrud of Oakwood.

Brandi Browning and Heather Lawrence, both of Cleveland, recently graduated from Excelsior College in Albany, N.Y.

Timothy Luke Huffman of Cumming was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester at St. Mary’s College of Maryland in St. Mary’s City, Md. To be eligible for this honor, students must earn a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or better while taking 12 or more credits.

The following students were recently named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta. To be eligible for this honor, a student must earn a 3.0 GPA average for the semester.
Elif Alyanak, Andres Borda Cabal, David Brannen, Kathleen Burroughs, Joshua Gazaway, Amelia Martin, Brittani Matthews, Frank Norton, Matthew Olson, Emily Randall, Jacob Rossi, Erin Shope, William Tsikerdanos, Katherine Umberson, Brian Waltman, Eddie Wheeler, Josh Wilkins and Henry Windhorst of Gainesville;
Kaitlin Avra, Melody Baeza, Meredith Barta, Joshua Bosse, Cameron Brown, Steven McClendon, Benjamin Miles, Kathryn Mitchell, Christi Nesmith, Austin Norton, Matthew Sterritt and Patrick Whaley of Cumming;
Christopher Becker, Shauna Burnette, Matthew Compton, Melinda Dolphyn, Blake Fuller, Zachary Luna, Michael Misley, Tan Pham, Jordan Stone and Anna Sulimirski of Buford;
Joel Burlingame, Matthew Dieffenderfer and Logan Walls of Dawsonville;
Jared Caldwell, Chris Gilbert, Audrey Owens and Olivia Steele of Dahlonega;
Carlos Casarrubias Solano, Michael Dreybus and Talia Knapp of Hoschton;
Andrew Chastain and Sarah Walker of Sautee Nacoochee;
Daniel Condon, Molly Fangmann and Andrew Milhollin of Cleveland;
Daniel Miller, Jessica Power and Travis Surrell of Jefferson.

Nathan Pascarella of Buford recently graduated from Worcester Polytechnic Institute in worcester, Mass.


The following students recently graduated from Shorter College in Rome:
Kimberly Friedel and Sean Moore Smith of Buford;
Jennifer Austin and Ricky Furr of Cumming;
Jeffrey Wood of Dahlonega;
Brian Jennings of Dawsonville;
Roger Warlick of Flowery Branch;
Alan Bennett, Stephen Cannon, Jennifer Folsom, Jared Williams and Timothy Colbert of Gainesville;
Renee Glenfield of Hoschton;
Ann Billups and Benedikt Bischoff of Jefferson;
April Crocker of Lula.

Regional events