By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good news
Winners for the annual Northeast Georgia Writers Awards are, seated from left, Elouise Whitten, Margaret S. Ellett and Phyllis Judge. Standing from left are Lynda Holmes, Brenda Clark, Ruthanna Kilpatrick-Bass, Catherine Cosenza, Leona Martin, Constance Pagano, Rosemary Harris-Mallinson, Laura Leigh Harris and Marsha Hopkins.

Students awarded Festival Scholarships 

The Gainesville Music Club has announced the Festival Scholarship winners from both the North Gainesville Music Festival and the South Gainesville Festival held recently in Gainesville.

  • Karey Loggins, daughter of Paul and Tracy Loggins of Gainesville, was awarded the North Gainesville Festival Piano Scholarship. The North Hall High School sophomore is a student of Judy Thomas, Gainesville.
  • Chandler Darby, son of Mike and Deana Darby of Hoschton, was named winner of the North Gainesville Festival Art Song Scholarship. The Gainesville High School freshman is a student of Jimmy Cutrell, Gainesville.
  • Ama Trear, daughter of James and Elena Trear of Flowery Branch, won the North Gainesville Festival Musical Theater Scholarship. The Flowery Branch High School junior is a student of Jimmy Cutrell, Gainesville.
  • Conor Monaghan, son of James and Genie Monaghan of Gainesville, received a scholarship for being named the First Alternate in the North Gainesville Festival Piano Competition. The Heritage Academy sophomore is a student of Keith Jefcoat, Gainesville.
  • Rachel Voorhis, daughter of Richard and Lise Voorhis of Cumming, was awarded the South Gainesville Festival Musical Theater Scholarship. The West Forsyth High School junior is a student of Elise O'Banion, Sugar Hill.
  • Jake Cooper, son of Tommy and Melinda Cooper of Snellville, received the South Gainesville Art Song Scholarship. The 14 year-old home schooled student studies voice with Patti Bennett, Buford.
  • Joanna Kirk, daughter of Terry and Johnetta Kirk of Suwanee, was named the South Gainesville Festival Piano Scholarship winner. The North Gwinnett High School junior is a student of Patti Bennett, Buford.
  • Kahama Bhyravabhotla is the daughter of Raghurama and Srivalli Bhyravabhotla of Suwanee. She will receive a scholarship for being selected as the First Alternate in the South Gainesville Festival Piano Competition. The Northview High School junior is a student of Geniya Volzhakaya, Buford.
  • DaVade Dean, son of Michael and Alesia Dean of Gainesville, won the Gainesville Music Club Strings Scholarship. The Gainesville Middle School sixth-grader is a student of Mary Alice Swope, Gainesville.

All teachers are members of The Gainesville Music Club, which sponsors the annual Junior Music Festivals in conjunction with the Georgia and National Federations of Music clubs.

Northeast Georgia Writers awards writers

The 34th annual Northeast Georgia Writers awards luncheon took place on May 7 at the Peach State Bank in Gainesville.

Scott Fugate, a Brenau University professor, and Vanessa Hyatt-Fugate, a voice teacher and singer, presented the awards.

The winners in the seven categories were as follows:

  • Assigned Subject: Marsha Hopkins, first; Margaret S. Ellett, second; Catherine Cosenza, third.
  • Poetry: Catherine Cosenza, first; Leona Martin, second; Marsha Hopkins, third.
  • Short Story, Fiction or Nonfiction: Lynda Holmes, first; Laura Leigh Harris, second; Phyllis Judge, third.
  • Nonfiction article: Brenda Clark, first; Elouise Whitten, second; Constance Pagano, third.
  • Children's Story: Rosemary Harris-Mallinson, first; Lynda Holmes, second; Barbara H. Harper, third.
  • Song Lyrics: Rosemary Harris-Mallinson, first; Marsha Hopkins, second; Lynda Holmes, third.
  • Drama (One-act play or Dramatic Monologue): Rosemary Harris-Mallinson, first; Lynda Holmes, second; Ruthanna Kilpatrick-Bass, third.
  • The Woodstock Award, given to the member considered the "workhorse" of the group, was awarded to Marsha Hopkins. The Snoopy Award for Writer of the Year was given to Brenda Clark.

This year's contest judges were Harris Blackwood, community editor for The Times; the Rev. William L. Coates, pastor of First Baptist Church in Gainesville; Stephen Gurr; Sarah Justus, principal of West Hall Middle School; Scott Lindquist, author and writer; Dixie Smith, writer and Dorothy Worth.

Pet Strut 5K winners named

The following are results from the 5K race at the 17th annual Stray Pet Strut held by the Hall County Humane Society on April 13 at Lake Lanier Islands.


  • Overall: Daniel Martinez; Masters: Richard Gregor
  • 10 and younger: David Eddleman, first; Ryan Ball, second
  • 11-14: Kenny Slavik, first
  • 15-19: Thomas Earnhart, first; Charles Weaving, second; Corey O’Quinn, third
  • 20-24: Daniel Stockdale, first; Colin Esposito, second; John Howard, third
  • 25-29: Jason Muncy, first; Jonathan Richmond, second
  • 30-34: Bruce Carlton, first
  • 35-39: Pat Kavanaugh, first; Damin Burgess, second; David Crossett, third
  • 40-44: Jon Eddleman, first; Kyle Hinnant, second; Scotty Rich, third
  • 45-49: Rudolph Uys, first; Greg McGuire, second; Timothy Bagley, third
  • 50-54: John Ramage, first; Roger Keel, second; Bill Moore, third
  • 60-64: John Gram, first; George Southgate, second; Chris Seammon, third
  • 65-69: Bill Gardner, first; Ken Brown, second; Ron Stephens, third


  • Overall: Kacey Cochran; Masters: Kelli Schoenberger
  • 10 and younger: Madison Eddleman, first; Sidney Parker, second
  • 11-14: Maggie Blauvelt, first; Elaine Miklof, second; Nicole Ball and Jordan Ball (tie)
  • 15-19: Grace Clark, first; Lauren Rylee, second
  • 20-24: Stephanie Burgess, first; Megan Martin, second; Jamie Checkley, third
  • 25-29: Nikki Conner, first; Erin McKinney, second
  • 30-34: Kelley Newberry, first; Lara Eddleman, second; Dustonia Call, third
  • 35-39: Helen Blalock, first; Lisa Burch, second
  • 40-44: Krys Crawford, first; Rhonda Trainor, second; Karen Pearson, third
  • 45-49: Dara Lavalle, first
  • 50-54: Nancy Woods, first; Renzie Richardson, second; Billie Marshall, third
  • 55-59: Lara Johnson, first; Kathy Givens, second
  • 60-64: Cheryl Vail, first; Barbara Conley, second; Versie Cornatzer, third
  • 70 and older: Anne Patrick, first

Army private graduates

Army Reserve Pvt. Ashley Anne Hewett has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C. She is the daughter of Deena Wallingford of Gainesville and is a 2005 graduate of Chestatee High School in Gainesville.

Regional events