By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good News
Lyman Hall Chapter Vice President Ed Rigel Sr., right, gives a presentation honoring George Washington during a recent ceremony at the president’s statue in downtown Gainesville. From left is Sheriff Steve Cronic, Sheriff’s Col. Jeff Strickland, Rep. Tommy Benton and Gainesville Mayor Ruth Bruner. - photo by For The Times
 The Lyman Hall chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution recently honored America’s first president, George Washington, and his birthday during an event at the president’s monument in Gainesville.

Forty people attended the ceremony, including Gainesville Mayor Ruth Bruner, city council members Myrtle Figueras and George Wangeman, Rep. Tommy Benton, who is also a member of Sons of the American Revolution, and Hall County Sheriff Steve Cronic. Other deputies, Gainesville police officers, Sons of the American Revolution and Daughters of the American Revolution also attended the event.

American Revolution Color Guard, with Compatriot Paul Prescott commanding, presented the colors.

Lyman Hall Chapter Vice President Ed Rigel Sr. presided over the event. Compatriot Charlie Newcomer, alternate national trustee for the Georgia Society Sons of the American Revolution, brought greetings from the national society. Marcie Fletcher, regent of the Col. William Candler Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, gave a program on Washington and Lyman Hall Chapter past president Hall Martin Sr. presented a wreath in honor of the president.

Members of the Sons of the American Revolution and Daughters of the American Revolution are lineal descendants of patriots who provided support to the cause of the American Revolution.

 Hall County fifth- and sixth-graders recently competed in 4-H Project Achievement at Riverbend Elementary School.

Participants were required to present a three- to six-minute speech on the subject of their choice. Posters and other visual aids were used to help support the main idea of the speech.

Students from the following schools placed in their categories:

McEver Elementary School: McKenzie Carter, first place, Sports

Myers Elementary School: Valentina Casas, third place, Entomology; Kimberly Orellana and Cheslea Arguela, third place, History; Emily Nix, third place, Entomology; Ashley Torres, third place, General Science; Kasey Baker, second place, Dog Care & Training; Ricky Garcia, first place, Electric & Electronics; Tony Rios, third place, Human Development; Gabriela Miranda, first place, Ocean Ecology; Francisco Saenz, second place, Ocean Ecology.

Mount Vernon Elementary School: Caleb Shoemaker, first place, History; Megan Mize, second place, Communication; Daniel Martin, second place, History; Amelia Erwin, first place, Performing Arts, Instrumental.

Oakwood Elementary School: Andrew Lilly, first place, History; Seth Shows, second place, Marsh & Coastal Ecology.

Riverbend Elementary School: Breunne Milddlebrooks, third place, Outdoor Recreation; Zachary Green, first place, Entomology.

Spout Springs Elementary School: Holly Hughes, second place, Sports; James Mifflin, first place, General Science; Kushaf Choudhry, third place, Marine & Coastal Ecology.

Tadmore Elementary School: Carlos Castrejon, third place, International; LesLe Valentin, third place, Wildlife.

Wauka Mountain Elementary School: Lucas Standridge, first Place, Health; Eric Uscanga, first Place, Rabbits; McKenzie Bowen, second Place, Wildlife.

White Sulphur Elementary School: Jennifer Santand, first place, Dairy Foods; Riley White, first place, Marine & Coastal Ecology; Abigayle Schilling, third place, Dog Care & Training; Daisy Gallaga, third place, General Science; Andrew Arrowood, second place, General Science; Benjamin Arvalo, first place, Public Speaking; Shyla Anderson, first place, Horse; Laura Andrade, first place, International; Rori Brown, second place, Entomology; Skyler Brown, second place, International; Niyah Khan, third place, International; Holt Buffinton, third place, Sports; Isaiah del Campbell, second place, Outdoor Recreation; Krissy Hamby, first place, Outdoor Recreation; Jessica Cordin, first place, Companion Animals; Hope Browning, first place, Dog Care & Training; Torrie Yopp, second place, Human Development; Shaliyah Williams, first place, Clothing & Textiles; Fredrick Grimes, third place, Sports; Emily Carbajal, second place, Cat Care; Dahneaya Gregory, first place, Crafts; Hannah Murrow, first place, Wildlife; Lainey England, third place, General Recreation; Casper Danile, first place, General Recreation; Chondellia Gretchies, second place, History; Sarah Tullis, second place, General Recreation.

Homeschool: Cody Cornett, first place, Palentology; Grace Hilley, first place, Food for the Family.

CW Davis Middle School: Giovanna Sifontes, first place, Cat Care.

Chestatee Middle School; Hannah Shotwell, first place, Time and Money Management; Kayla Krauth, first place, Communications.

Da Vinci Academy; Jarrett Turner, first place, Human Development; Mitchell Allen, first place, Conservation & Recycling.

North Hall Middle School; Alissa Adams, first place, Geology.

Regional events