By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Weschler wins at Chattahoochee
Placeholder Image

The Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association held its annual Individual Low Gross/Low Net Championships on Wednesday and Thursday at the Chattahoochee Golf Course.

The white tee, low-gross winner was Gene Weschler, who fired a 4-over-par 148 to win the 2010 Low Gross Championship.

Stand Davidson, Jr. and Leroy Harper placed second and third respectively.

The 2010 Low Net Champion was Paul Payne, who fired a 17-under-par 127. Payne was follwed by Jack Costello, Herb Sckerl, and Butch Teston and Joe Roberts in a tie for fourth.

In the gold tee, low-net competition, Carlyle Cox took first place, Bud Clegg took second, Don Gage placed third, Ed Pledger was fourth and Clary Bartlett finished in fifth.

In the ancillary Wednesday-only game, Richard McClure won the first flight, with Bob Pyne, Ben Brooks and Roger Futrell tieing for second. Jim Hollobaugh finished in fifth and Jim Van Dyke took sixth.

In the second flight, Ron Bachman was first, Dave White was second and Brown Wilder was third. Don Flanders and Bob Layne tied for fourth and Guy Long placed sixth.

Closest to the pin winners Wednesday were Dave White on No. 3, Rolf Legbandt on No. 4, Don Wells on No. 12 and Dave Long on No. 17.

Thursday’s closest to the pin winners were Gave on No. 3 and No. 5, Joe Roberts on No. 12 and Payne on No. 17.

LUNA: Gene Weschler, Richard Strickland, Don Rogers and Jim Cornett teamed up to take first place as the Luna’s Tuesday Golf Group met at the Chattahooche Golf Course this week.

Second place went to the team of Chad Pierce, Bud Black, Johnny Nix and Doug Van, while third place went to the team of Larry Miller, Stan Davidson Jr, Al Raynes, and Stan Davidson Sr.

Closest to the pin winners were Black on No. 3, Frank House on No. 5 and Nix on No. 12 and No. 17.

DPG: The DPG played matches Monday, Wednesday and Friday of this week at Chicopee Woods Golf Course.

On Monday, the team of Dwight Miller and Martha Shell tied the team of Dave Jetter and Denis Jordan for first place with a score of -5. Jetter also won the individual match with a score of even.

Wednesday’s match was won by Horace Smallwood with a +2. Jetter and Terrence Dale tied for second with a score of -1.

Miller took first place honors Friday with +5. Doug Padgett finished second with +3 and Smallwood was third with +1.

Regional events