By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Wednesday Dogfight group competes at Chicopee Woods
Placeholder Image

The Wednesday Dogfights at Chicopee Woods Golf Course were a best-three net scores out of four.

The first place team was Tom Bolton, Jerry Horton, Scott Thompson and Yoko Komoto (21-under). The second place team was Tommy Calhoun, Roger Stapp, Gayle Gibson and Terry McFarland (-20).

Terry McFarland (64) finished first in individual net scores. Vince Jonte (66) was second. Ron Melin and Randy Sizemore (67) finished tied for third. Tied for fifth place was Roger Stapp, Chris Jones and Henry Komoto (68).

The Chattahoochee Ladies Golf Association played a best-nine, low-net event on Tuesday.

The first flight winners were Ann McMullan with the first low net followed by Jackie Sommerville with the second low net. The second flight winners were Martha Nesbit with the first low net and Linda Keller with the second low net.

McMullan was close-up on No. 3 and No. 17.

The Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association played a three best ball, net strokes game Wednesday at the Chattahoochee Golf Course.

First place was the team of Richard McClure, Denny Momper and Roger Futrell. Second place was Geoff Derryberry, Marty Anderson, Dave Long and AJ Kiker.

The team of Rick Reed, Don Gage, Gary Palmer and J.B. Johnston finished third. The fourth place team was Gene Weschler, Paul Payne, Dave Gleason and Dave Valent. Closest to the pin winners were Tom Palumbo (No. 3), Bruce Doll (No. 5), Bill Oliver (No. 12) and Rick Reed (No. 17).

The Luna’s Tuesday golf group played at Chattahoochee Golf Course this week. First place went to the team of Stan Davidson Jr., Tom Sexton, Cleve Brown and Gene Cobb. Second place was the team of Gene Weschler, Karl Steigele, Frank Waggoner and Johnny Nix.

Third place was the team of Richard Strickland, Phil Rothermel, Leggs Clark and Randy Gordy. Closest to the pin winners were Davidson (No. 3 and No. 17), Weschler (No. 5) and Clark (No.12).

Regional events