By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Dingess, Smith win Royal Lakes event
Placeholder Image

Dannie Dingess and Greg Smith won the first flight of the Royal Lakes Golf and Country Club’s member-member championships and then won in a shootout against the winners of the other three flights to emerge as the overall champion Monday in Flowery Branch. Dingess and Smith carded a 64 on the first 18, followed by a 61 during the final round to win the title with a 125.

Dingess and Smith won the playoffs on No. 9 against John Rowlett and Ron Lowe, who finished with a 131. After a 63 during the first round, Rowlett and Lowe carded a 68 on Monday. Rob Dunham and Josh McGee won the second flight with a 129. Steve Blair and Danny Power were winners of the fourth flight (127). Closest to the pin winners were Randy Bailey (No. 4), Dan VanSlyke (No. 8), Maurice Robbins (No. 14) and Creighton Davies (No. 16).

CMGA: AJ Kiker and Bill Sutton finished tied for first place in the white tee flight of the Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association event Wednesday at Chattahoochee. Bill Hardman finished third, and Eddie Johnson placed fourth. In the gold tee first flight, Clay Bartlett and Don Sorrell finished tied for first. Don Gage and Jim Carroll finished in a tie for third. Bud Clegg won the gold tee’s second flight, while Guy Long placed second. Closest to the pin winners were Jim Hollobaugh (No. 3), Roy Lyle (No. 5), Paul Payne (No. 12) and Bob Henderson (No. 17).

DOGFIGHT: The Wednesday Dogfight played a two-best ball, net game at Chicopee Woods Golf Course, along with an individual competition. The winners of the team event were Jerry Horton, Gail Gibson and Yoko Komoto (21-under). Terry Clegg, Chris Jones and Allan Summerville (17-under) took second place and Tommy Calhoun, Bob Arendt and Geoff Archibald (15-under) finished third. Gail Gibson (64) won the individual standings, followed by Joe Roberts (65) and Arendt (66).

CLGA: The team of Violet Reynolds, Carolyn Palmer and Nancy Negley won the Chattahoochee Ladies’ Golf Association’s best-ball, net team event on Tuesday at Chattahoochee. Susan Prather, Bea Fisher and Sally Woo finished second. Closest to the pin winners were Nancy Negley (No. 3) and Nora Gleason (No. 17).

DPG: The DPG golf group played matches on Monday, Wednesday and Friday at Chicopee Woods. On Monday, Dave Jetter placed first (+2), Horace Smallwood and Steve Knowles tied for second (+1) and Charles Kilby finished third. On Wednesday, Dennis Jones won with a +7, Jerry Shell was second at +6 and Bob Kidd was third +1. Horace Smallwood was Friday’s winner at +7, Jordan placed second at +2, and Jetter and Charles Kilby each shot even.

Friends to Follow social media