By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News
Patrick Doyle and Derrick Bland, students at Flowery Branch High School, placed second in Emerging Business Issues at this year’s FBLA State Leadership Conference in March in Atlanta. These students qualified to compete at the National Leadership Conference July 14-17 in Nashville, Tenn. - photo by For The Times

Gainesville State College held its summer/fall Commencement on Dec. 12 at the Gainesville Campus, awarding 470 two- and four-year degrees. Betty Siegel, president emeritus of Kennesaw State University, gave the Commencement Address.

Local students who graduated included:

From Banks County: Heather Beck, Aundie Black, Cara Bolton, Mathew Cregar, Samantha Fordham, Sarah Freeman, Summer Gaillard, Johnny Klugh, Joshua McDonald, Kristin Rowland, Kayla Segars, Allie Strickland.

From Dawson County: Heather Bearden, Tiffany Daniel, Audrey Goode, Carol Helton, Cristina Rickey, Michelle Rose, Nickolas Tatum, Kevin Woody.

From Habersham County: Jessica Branson, Candace Brookshire, Lauren Gore, Joshua Jones, Garland Lewallen, Justin Mayhew, Hallie Pruitt, Maria Queriapa, Catherine Rice, Emily Stocking, Joey Waters.

From Hall County: Rejana Albertson, Devina Allen, Diane Allen, Danielle Allison, Michael Bagwell, Jennifer Baker, Dana Barton, Joshua Brice, Karen Burry, Angela Cantrell, Shayna Carlisle, Wesley Cash, Chad Cassity, Austin Chamblee, James Chapman, Jennifer Childers, Robert Childers, Daniel Clark, Marjory Clark, Michael Clark, Vincent Conner, Lauren Cowart, Margaret Craven, Tara Downor, Jonathan Evans, Sherry Evans, Kay Everett, Tyler Fitzgerald, Jacob Flood, Ashley Forrester, Jason Friend, Kim Gammage, Erika Garcia, Julia Gilstrap, Becky Green, Abby Griffin, Kelly Griffin, Rebecca Hesselgrave, Wendy Hewett, James Hinds, Lauren Hitt, Caroline Holcombe, Jarred Hudgins, Kinsey Hughes, Carol Hulsey, Angela Hunter, Paulette Kennedy,Shama Khimani, Erika Knopp, Jeffrey Krider, Deneshia Larson, Mary Ledford, Tiffany Loggins, Sherry Long, Courtney Lovell, Robert Lowell, Michael Marks, Charles Martin, Nancy Martinez, Steven Matthews, Andrew McKinny, Martha Mendez, Marco Mendoza, Christopher Mercer, Jessica Miller, Joel Miller, Stephanie Miller, Donna Milligan, Theresa Moat, Brittany Moon, Lindsay Moon, Jason Morris, Jennifer Mulligan, Meghan Nalley-Pittman, Heather Nguyen, Malana Parson, Ronald Pate, Kathryn Poff, Rebecca Rainey, Nathaniel Ray, Christina Roberts, Keri Roberts, Vicky Roberts, Amanda Sanchez, Angela Saravia, Alejandro Schwedhelm, Elliott Scoville, Chelsea Shawl, Jana Siderakis, Jessica Siskey, Cristy Curles Smith,David Smith, Heather Smith, Heather Spillers, Ronnie Sprouse, Jessica Stephens, Amy Strzemienski, Robert Suchke, Lisa Swenson, Amanda Teasley, Amy Thornton, Makita Totty, Ngan Truong, Ronald Turner, Angela Vimont, John Wagner, Morgan Wellinghoff, Elizabeth Whitmire, Nicole Williamson, Nathan Wilson, Rebecca Wilson, Uli Wilson, Nathan Wolf, Leslie Wright, Lisa Yang, Kristen Yates, Teresa Young.

From Jackson County: Mark Anthony, Joan Bryant, Amber Cochran, Hayes Cooley, Walter Diesch, Ramsey Fincher, Karen Griffin, Kimberly Grizzle, Kristal Hollis, Samantha Lunsford, Nadia Matani, Abby Minish, Abby Potts, Mcneal Prater, Jimmy Rowan, Christian Salas, Sarah Skelton, Elizabeth Soldwish, Andrew Stephens, Matthew Tillotson, William West, Jonathan Wise, William Woodrum, Rebecca Zellner.

From Lumpkin County: Curtis Footit, Erin Lamaitis, James Turner, Torina Walls.

From White County: Kala Abernathy, Kyle Ansley, Keri Cooper.



Jennifer Whitehead of Gainesville has been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester at The Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md.

To be eligible for this honor, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale with at least 12 graded credits.

She is the daughter of Harry and Janice Whitehead and attended Lakeview Academy in Gainesville.


Students at North Georgia Technical College in Clarkesville recently received their certificates of credit.

Brittany Queen of Gillsville received a certificate in EMT Intermediate, Matthew Loftis of Lula received a certificate in Fire Fighter I, Cynthia Crane of Lula received a certificate in Medical Coding, William Lewallen of Lula received a certificate in Electrical Lineworker Apprentice and George Ford of Clermont received a certificate in Water Quality Technician.

In Commercial Truck Driving, Tyler Crawford and Steven Wheat of Oakwood and Stephen Thomas of Murrayville completed their certificates.


Audrey Gailey, a student at Georgia College & State University in Macon, has been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester.

Regional events