By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Niekro named to the Hall of Fame board of directors
Placeholder Image

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. — Phil Niekro, Bob DuPuy and Jerry Reinsdorf are the newest members on the Hall of Fame's board of directors.

 They were elected Saturday during the Hall's induction weekend.

Niekro, who spent most of his career with the Atlanta Braves, is enshrined in the Hall, having won 318 games during a 24-year career. DuPuy has been president and chief operating officer of Major League Baseball since 2002. Reinsdorf is chairman of the board of the Chicago White Sox.

"From diverse backgrounds, Bob, Phil and Jerry share a common love for the game and a deep appreciation and respect for our role as an educational institution. Their vision and dedication will strengthen our institution," Hall chairman Jane Forbes Clark said Monday.

There are now 18 board members at the Hall, including baseball commissioner Bud Selig, Frank Robinson and George Steinbrenner.

Regional events