By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local golf: Harper, Sorrell win titles at Chattahoochee Golf Course
Placeholder Image

The Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association played its annual two-day Association Individual Championships on Wednesday and Thursday at Chattahoochee Golf Course.

Leroy Harper was the low gross champion with a two-day score of 152.

Don Sorrell was the low net champion with a two-day net of 128.

Harper won the white tee gross flight in a field of five golfers. Gene Weschler finished second, Jack Costello finished third, A.J. Kiker finished fourth and Dennis Jones finished fifth.

Sorrell won the white tee net flight with Jerry Ermlich finishing second.

Closest to the pin winners were J.B. Johnson and Wells (No. 3), Doug Van and Weschler (No. 5), Harper (No. 17, both days) and Ermlich and Jim Carroll (No. 17).

Dogfight group takes on Chicopee

First place finished in a tie between the team of Roger Stapp, Dan Arthurs, Bill Jorgenson and Bob Arendt and the team of Terry Clegg, Frank Bambarger, Jerry Horton and Tim Reed. Clegg won individually, with Arendt in second.

Luna’s golf group plays Reunion

First place went to the team of Tony Turpin, Joe Campbell, Doug Van and Jerry Johns. Second place went to the team of Steve Hill, Tom Sexton, Keith Fitzgerald and Grady Smith. Third place went to the team of Stan Davidson Jr., Royce Deaton, Richard Strickland and Leggs Clark. Closest to the pin winners were Rob Emerson (No. 3, No. 11), Turpin (No. 8), Smith (No. 14) and Fitzgerald (No. 16)

Regional events