By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local Golf :Costello win at Chattahoochee
Placeholder Image

The Chattahoochee Men’s Golf Association played its monthly Individual Flighted Strokes game on Wednesday at Chattahoochee Golf Couse.

Jack Costello won the White Tee First Flight with a 79 and a 63 in two rounds. Paul Payne finished second (80, 65), Gene Weschler finished third (77, 67), Doug Glidden finished fourth (80, 68) and Doug Van (86/70) and Ed Pledger (87/70) finished tied for fifth.

Carlyle Cox won the White Tee Second Flight with scores of 79 and 63. Bob Watson finsihed second (98, 68) and Johnny Little finished third (97, 70). Larry Cohan (87, 71), Dave Gleason (91, 71), Eddie Johnson (92, 71) and Guy Long (104, 71) tied for fourth.

Don Sorrell won the Gold Tee First Flight with scores of 83 and 67. Bill Falls (85, 67) and Roy Lyle (85, 67) finished tied for second, Bob Henderson finished fourth (83, 69) and Bud Clegg finished fifth (88, 71).

John T. Smith won the Gold Tee Second Flight with scores of 106 and 70. Jere Cochran (93, 74), Chuck Landergott (94, 74), Jimmy Johnson (95, 74) and Lee Bowers (108, 74) finished tied for second.

Closest to the pin winners were Greg Taira (No. 3), Jimmy Johnson (No. 5), J.B. Johnson (No. 12) and Ron Hopley (No. 17).

The Luna’s Tuesday Golf group played this week at Royal Lakes Golf Course.

First place went to the team of Gene Weschler, Gene Cobb, Richard Strickland and Jerry Johns.

The team of Donnie W. Smith, Joe Campbell, Frank House and Doug Van and the team of Steve Hill, Don Smallwood, Royce Deaton and Jim Cornett finished tied for second.

Closest to the pin winners were Cleve Brown (No. 4), Johns (No. 8), Campbell (No. 14) and Larry Miller (No. 16).

The Wednesday Dogfight golf group played this week at Chicopee Woods Golf Course.

The team of Lori Clark, Jerry Horton, Walter Hope and Terry Clegg and the team of Roger Stapp, Ken Lightfoot, Tim Reed and Frank Bambarger tied for first place.

Clark won individually. Reed finished second, Stapp finished fourth and Bambarger and Wayne Strickland tied for fifth.

Regional events