By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Jefferson freshman headlines Region 8-AA cross country all-region team
Jackson County puts four girls on team
Placeholder Image

Kyle Kashuba, a freshman at Jefferson High, and Daniel Payne, a senior at Union County, were named to the first team of the All Region 8-AA Cross Country squad, as voted on by the region’s coaches.

Dawson County put two runners on the second team and one on the third team while Union County and Banks County both added two. Kashuba was the lone member of the team from Jefferson.

Jackson County put four runners onto the girls squad, led by first-teamers Brittany Aikens and Rachel Pasko. Madalyn Waters, one of three runners from Dawson County, also made the first team. Jefferson also put three runners on the team, including Reese Bowles, who made the first team.

2010 Region 8-AA All-region teams

Boys first team

Tripp Hurt, North Oconee
Ethan Alexander, Elbert County
Josh Wheeler, Oglethorpe County
Cale Pirtle, East Jackson
Ross Morris, Hart County
Kyle Kashuba, Jefferson
Daniel Payne, Union County

Boys second team

Chad Capobianco, North Oconee
Ian Wraga, North Oconee
Preston Devaney, North Oconee
Jon Erickson, Dawson County
Preston Adams, Dawson County
Avel Delgado, Oglethorpe County
Ivan Diaz, Banks County

Boys third team

Steven King, Rabun County
Braxton Owens, Elbert County
Trey Martin, Banks County
Hunter Garrett, North Oconee
Tucker Belton, Union County
Cody Boswell, Fannin County
Tyler Thurmond, Dawson County

Girls first team

Brittany Aikens, Jackson County
Rachel Pasko, Jackson County
Madalyn Waters, Dawson County
Sherri Blalock, East Jackson
Cheyenne Golden, Fannin County
Olivia Pigg, North Oconee
Reese Bowles, Jefferson

Girls second team

Cara Smith, Jefferson
Alison Missler, Jefferson
Sydney Baird, Jackson County
Michayla Scollon, Jackson County
Jessico Cox, Hart County
Dorie Faber, North Oconee
Eli Ruiz, Rabun County

Girls third team

Carley Gilreath, Dawson County
Michelle Burkett, Dawson County
Courtney McDowell, East Jackson
Sheena McEachin, East Jackson
Lexie Fain, Hart County
Sara Beth Cockerham, Union County
Cindy Bledsoe, North Oconee

Friends to Follow social media