By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Boys All-Area Basketball Team
Placeholder Image

Boys Basketball Player of the Year: Johnson's James Hodges

Girls Basketball Player of the Year: Chestatee's Bridgette Kelly

Boys Basketball Coach of the Year: Johnson's Jeff Steele

Girls Basketball Coach of the Year: East Hall's Justin Wheeler

Girls All-Area Basketball Team

First Team

James Hodges
6-2, PF/C, Senior
Notable: 20 points and 10 rebounds per game; led Knights to second straight Region 8-AAAA title

D’Marcus Simonds
6-4, G, Sophomore
Notable: 22 points, 12 rebounds and 5 assists per game; Region 7-AAA Player of the Year

Kyvon Davenport
East Hall
6-5, PF/C, Junior
Notable: 18 points, 14 rebounds and 3.3 blocks per game; made four game-winning shots

Ty Cockfield
5-11, G, Junior
Notable: 18 points and 5 assists per game; helped lead Knights to second straight 8-AAAA title

Rakim Lubin
6-8, PF/C, Senior
Notable: 20 points, 13 rebounds and 3 blocks per game; led Buford to Class AAA state title game

Avery Cagle
Riverside Military
6-5, G/F, Junior
Notable: 20.6 points, 7 rebounds, 3 assists and 1.5 steals per game; season-high of 40 points

Second team

Spencer Adams
White County
PG, Senior
Notable: 18.1 points, 8.2 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 3.2 steals per game

Hunter Atkinson
West Hall
C, Senior
Notable: 14 points and 10 rebounds per game; Lanierland All-Tournament

Carson Heinen
North Hall
G, Sophomore
Notable: 17 points per game, 41% from 3-point range

Satchel Turpin
SF, Senior
Notable: 16 points and 12 rebounds per game, 8-AA Player of the Year

Tay Taylor
PF, Senior
Notable: 16 points and 11 rebounds per game; led Jefferson to 8-AA title

Tyquan Statham
West Hall
G, Sophomore
Notable: 12 points and 9 rebounds per game

Honorable Mention

Drew Dunham, Sr., Johnson
Taylor Bourdage, Jr., Flowery Branch
Luke Maddox, Jr., Gainesville
Brock Wingo, Jr., North Hall
Evan Easton, Fr., North Hall
Kirk Vaughn, Jr., Commerce
Tre Gober, Fr., Lakeview Academy
Noah Miller, Sr., Habersham Central
Austin Holman, Sr., Lumpkin County
Daniel McCrary, Sr., Lumpkin County
Johnny Gilreath, Sr., Lumpkin County
Brandon Mayors, Sr., Riverside Military
Raleigh Beougher, Jr., Riverside Military
Antonio Maddox, Sr., East Hall
Triston Cooper, So., East Hall
Jacquen Hopkins, So., East Hall

Friends to Follow social media