By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Curran and Owens named to Lott Trophy watch list
Placeholder Image

University of Georgia junior linebacker Rennie Curran and senior defensive tackle Jeff Owens were named Tuesday to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List.

Curran, a 228-pound All-SEC linebacker in 2008, finished second in the SEC with a team-best 115 tackles last year. Owens, a 300-pound tackle, went down with a knee injury in the 2008 season opener and missed the remainder of the year.

Former Georgia All-American David Pollack won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. The other winners include DeMeco Ryans of Alabama (2005), Daymeion Hughes of Cal (2006), Glenn Dorsey of LSU (2007) and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State (2008).

Friends to Follow social media