By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Two Hall County teachers receive scholarships to help pursue advanced degrees
05042019 BRF-teachers 1.jpg
Chicopee Woods Elementary's Alicia Johnson has been named a C.W. Davis Scholar and will receive $500 scholarships towards her pursuit of advanced degrees. From the left they are Laurie Ecke, Kevin Bales, Alicia Johnson, Jamie Hitzges

Two Hall County Schools teachers have been named 2019 C.W. Davis Scholars and will receive $500 toward advanced education degrees.

Alicia Johnson, a first-grade teacher at Chicopee Woods Elementary, is currently pursuing a master’s degree at Piedmont College.

“I am a teacher because I love children and want to make a difference in their lives, and I love learning,” she said in a school district press release. “Teaching allows me to do what I love to do every day. I wake up each morning remembering the responsibilities I have as a teacher and do my job with passion. I try not to take one day for granted as I remember the words from Larry Bell: ‘Even on your worst day, you are still some child's best hope.’”

Michelle Seabolt, meanwhile, teaches special education at Johnson High. She also is attending Piedmont College, where she is studying for a specialist’s degree in curriculum and instruction.

“Education is the foundation of our children's success,” she said. “I am an educator because I want to see all students overcome obstacles and become successful in whatever avenue allows them to best live up to their own capabilities. After watching my own children, who struggle with learning disabilities and agonize over the constant pressure of being successful and measuring up to their peers, I knew my heart was to help them and others like them gain confidence in their own abilities.”

The North Georgia Community Foundation in Gainesville administers the C.W. Davis Scholarship, named for Hall County Schools’ superintendent from 1977-83.

Davis was named principal of the original Flowery Branch High in 1953.

In 1960, he founded the Lanierland Basketball Tournament and also served for a time as principal of South Hall High.

C.W. Davis Middle School was named in his honor in 1999.

The scholarship is available for current Hall County teachers who have completed between three and seven years of teaching. Recipients must plan to remain in an education-related field, and must be accepted into or already be enrolled at Brenau University, Georgia State University, Piedmont College, the University of Georgia or the University of North Georgia.

05042019 BRF-teachers 2.jpg
Johnson High School's Michelle Seabolt has been named a C.W. Davis Scholar and will receive $500 scholarships toward her pursuit of advanced degrees. From the left they are Jonathan Edwards, Michelle Seabolt, Laurie Ecke, Kevin Bales
Regional events