By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
State honors four Hall schools
Local schools among 250 statewide cited for CRCT scores
Placeholder Image
Four Hall County schools are among some 250 schools statewide receiving awards for student achievement and academic improvement, state officials announced Friday.

North Hall High, Lula Elementary, Chestatee High and West Hall Middle schools are being recognized based on 2006-2007 performance on state curriculum assessments, the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests or Georgia High School Graduation Tests.

The award winners are determined by the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement and the Georgia Department of Education.

"These award-winning schools are laser-focused on giving students the instruction and support they need to be successful," said State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox.

"They are not only creating a brighter future for our children, they are creating a brighter future for our state by nurturing our next generation of citizens."

Jennifer Rippner, executive director of the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement, said that "Gov. Sonny Perdue and I believe it is very important to use our data to recognize the schools that are showing the greatest results.

"These are the schools that are reaching the highest levels and showing the greatest improvements."

Award-winning schools will receive banners and a commedation from Perdue.

Cox and Rippner are scheduled to visit Dawson County High School and Liberty and South Forsyth middle schools in Forsyth County on Monday to recognize them as three of seven schools in the state receiving awards for both highest achievement and greatest gains.

Other Forsyth County schools being recognized for either high student achievement or academic improvement are Big Creek, Vickery Creek, Daves Creek, Sharon, Settles Bridge, Mashburn, Chattahoochee, Shiloh Point, Cumming, Matt and Midway elementary schools; South Forsyth High School; and Riverwatch, Otwell and North Forsyth middle schools.

Also receiving state honors are Commerce Primary School, East Jackson Elementary School, Jefferson High and Jefferson Middle schools, North Habersham Middle School and Lumpkin County Middle School.

Friends to Follow social media