By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Polls close at 7 p.m. in Flowery Branch special election
04012018 FLOWERY 1.jpg
Flowery Branch City Hall at 5410 W. Pine St. is the South Hall city's government center, including the police department. - photo by Scott Rogers

Voting is underway in a three-way race to fill Flowery Branch City Council’s Post 2 seat.

Polls close at 7 p.m Tuesday, June 18, in the special election being held at City Hall, 5410 W. Pine St.

Ed Asbridge, Missy Brooks and Chip McCallum are vying for the office vacated in December 2019 by Mary Jones, who died May 2.

The winner will serve out Jones’ term, which ends Dec. 31.

Qualifying is set for Aug. 19-21 for the seat’s four-year term beginning Jan. 1, with that election taking place Nov. 5.

The Hall County Board of Elections will certify the special election results on Friday, June 21, with the swearing-in ceremony for the new council member taking place at the July 18 council meeting, according to the Flowery Branch website.

The council normally meets on the first and third Thursday of the month, but no meeting will be held on the first Thursday of July as that falls on July 4.

In separate interviews with The Times, the candidates talked about several issues, including growth, roads and infrastructure.
Regional events