By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
May 24 primary voter registration deadline is Tuesday
Placeholder Image

Primary election dates

• April 26: Voter registration deadline
• May 2: Early voting begins
• May 24: Primary Day
• July 26: Runoff, if needed 

9th District Town Hall Meeting

When: 6:30-8 p.m. May 9
Where: Brenau Downtown Center auditorium, 301 Main St., Gainesville; broadcast live on WDUN AM550 and FM102.9, streamed on,, and the AccessWDUN smartphone app
How much: Free 

The deadline to register for the May 24 primary is Tuesday.

Residents can register online, with the GA Votes smartphone app or by mailing an application to the county registrar.

Races on the ballots in Hall County that day include the following:

• Republicans Paul Broun, incumbent Doug Collins, Roger Fitzpatrick, Bernie Fontaine and Mike Scupin for U.S. House District 9.

• Republicans Roy Benifield and incumbent John Wilkinson for state Senate District 50

• Republicans Steve Gailey and Richard Higgins for Hall County Board of Commissioners chairman, a seat held by Richard Mecum, who announced he is not running for re-election.

• Republicans Eugene Moon and incumbent Billy Powell for Hall County Board of Commissioners Post 2

• Republicans Troy Phillips and incumbent Jeff Stowe for the District 4 seat on the Hall Board of Commissioners. Democratic candidate Angela Middleton faces the winner in November.

• Republicans Clay Davis and incumbent Craig Herrington for Hall County Board of Education Post 3

• Attorneys John Breakfield and Michelle Hall for state court judge, where one seat is left open by Charles Wynne, who has announced he is retiring. The race is nonpartisan.

Voters must select a Republican, Democrat or nonpartisan ballot. The nonpartisan ballot only includes nonpartisan races such as judgeships.

Party ballots also include a number of questions to gauge public opinion on issues, but they are not binding questions.

Residents can check their registration status at the Secretary of State’s Office My Voter Page. It also provides sample ballots and voting locations.

Early voting begins May 2.