By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hot races on Gainesville, Flowery Branch ballots
Placeholder Image



Qualifying period: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday

Positions: Mayor, two City Council seats

Fees: Mayor, $54; council, $43.20


Qualifying period: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday

Positions: Mayor, two City Council seats

Fees: Mayor, $18, council, $9

Gainesville, Flowery Branch, Lula and Oakwood closed their qualifying on Wednesday.

Election dates

Wednesday: Last date to file write-in candidacy notice

Oct. 7: Last day to register to vote

Oct. 7: First day of early voting

Nov. 1: Last day for early voting

Nov. 1: Last day to mail ballots

Nov. 5: Election Day

Dec. 3: Runoff, if necessary

Updated: Election qualifying continues today and Friday in Gillsville and Clermont. This morning, incumbent Larry Poole qualified for Gillsville mayor. In Clermont, Lynn Adams, executive director of the Georgia Mountains YMCA, qualified for an at-large council position.

Previous story:

A few elections in Hall County heated up Wednesday on the last day of qualifying for some cities.

Each of the positions on the Gainesville City Council will be contested, and most of those in Flowery Branch will be as well.

Notably, Shanon Lutz, wife of Hall County Commissioner Craig Lutz, filed papers Wednesday to battle incumbent Flowery Branch Mayor Mike Miller.

Incumbent Tara Richards qualified for the Post 5 seat on that South Hall city’s council, where she has one challenger, Chris Fetterman, who has previously served on the council. Ed Edwards, a retiree, filed papers to run for Post 3, where incumbent Fred Richards also has qualified. Incumbent Joe Anglin qualified for Post 4.

In Gainesville, two more qualified Wednesday for posts on the City Council, including student Pablo Picazo for Ward 1, which was vacated by Danny Dunagan and is also being sought by Sam Couvillon, an insurance broker. And businessman Albert Reeves qualified for Ward 4, currently held by George Wangemann, who also has qualified.
Four qualified between Monday and Tuesday for the new elected mayor post in Gainesville, including Charles Alvarez, a real estate agent; Danny Dunagan, who served as mayor under the old council structure; Debra Harkrider, a businesswoman and nurse; and Rose Johnson, a small-business woman. The new position will be in addition to a council of five who represent five wards.

Oakwood’s election season will be quiet this year, with only incumbents filing papers to run: Lamar Scroggs for mayor, Sam Evans for Post 1 and Ron McFarland for Post 2.

Lula is in the same boat with incumbent Milton Turner for mayor as well as incumbents Vicky Chambers and Mordecai Wilson for City Council Wards 2 and 3, respectively.

Qualifying continues through Friday for Clermont and Gillsville, where no candidates filed papers Wednesday. Those who qualified earlier in the week include Gillsville incumbents Roy Turpin and Jim Butler for City Council Posts 1 and 2, respectively. The position of mayor also is open. In Clermont, incumbent James Nix qualified for mayor.

Also earlier in the week, incumbent Delores Diaz qualified for Gainesville Board of Education Ward 4 and Brett Mercer qualified for Ward 1, being vacated by David Syfan.

Friends to Follow social media