By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting for runoff to begin Thursday
Certification stalls printing of ballots for Aug. 21 primary runoff
Placeholder Image

Forsyth County recount completed

Hall County primary runoff

When: Early voting runs 8 a.m.-5 p.m. through Aug. 17; absentee ballots available starting Friday.

Where to vote: Hall County Elections Office, 2875 Browns Bridge Road, Gainesville

On the ballot:

U.S. House, 9th District: Doug Collins, Martha Zoller

Hall County Board of commissioners Chairman: Dick Mecum, Tom Oliver

Hall County sheriff: Gerald Couch, Jeff Strickland

Hall County tax commissioner: Darla Eden, Kent Henderson

Hall County probate judge: Brook Davidson, Patty Walters Laine

Early voting for the Aug. 21 primary runoff will begin today.

Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp did not certify the election results until late Tuesday, which put off the creation of ballots for the runoff an extra day.

Early voting is scheduled to run through Aug. 17. Voters can cast ballots from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Hall County Elections Office, 2875 Browns Bridge Road.

Absentee ballots are available starting Friday through Aug. 17.

Registered voters who did not take part in the primary still are able to vote in the runoff. Voters who cast ballots in the Republican and nonpartisan primaries are eligible for the runoff as well. Those who cast a Democratic ballot, however, do not have any races left to decide.

Hall Elections Director Charlotte Sosebee has predicted an 18 percent turnout for the runoff. The last runoff in 2008 brought out only 6.7 percent of voters.

Five races are on the Republican ballot in Hall County, matching the top two candidates for the 9th District U.S. House, Hall County Board of Commissioners chairman, sheriff, tax commissioner and probate judge.

Of those, only the winner of the U.S. House race faces a Democratic opponent in November.