By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
General Election Voters Guide
What you need to know before casting your ballot
Placeholder Image

Check on Election Day for updates on local poll traffic before you go vote. Then check in throughout the night for the latest results as the returns come in and the winners are declared.

Check out a sample ballot by voting district in Hall County.

On the Issues: Sunday's Viewpoint stories on key issues in the presidential campaign and how the candidates' plans could affect local residents.

Ballot questions

To find your polling site, visit the Secretary of State's poll locator.

Election calendar

  • Tuesday: Election Day, polls open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. (voters in line at closing time will be allowed to cast ballots)
  • Dec. 2: State runoff election, if needed
  • Jan. 20, 2009: Nation's 44th president inaugurated in Washington, D.C.

Campaign Web sites
Barack Obama
John McCain
Bob Barr
Ralph Nader
Cynthia McKinney

On Tuesday, voters across the United States will select the nation's 44th president. Georgia voters will choose a U.S. Senator, as well as members of the U.S. House and state legislators, along with other statewide officers.

Voters in Hall County face few contested races, however, as most incumbents ran unopposed and other races were decided by the July primary vote. Here's a look at what is on the ballot, along with key voter information you may need (D-Democrat; R-Republican; L-Libertarian):

On the ballot
U.S. president
Bob Barr (L); Wayne A. Root, vice president
John McCain (R); Sarah Palin, vice president
Barack Obama (D); Joe Biden, vice president

U.S. Senator
Allen Buckley (L)
Saxby Chambliss (R, incumbent)
Jim Martin (D)

U.S. Representative, 9th District
Nathan Deal (R, incumbent)
Jeff Scott (D)

Public Service Commission, District 4
Brandon Givens (L)
Lauren W. McDonald Jr. (R)
Jim Powell (D)

Public Service Commission, District 1
H. Doug Everett (R, incumbent)
John H. Monds (L)

General Assembly
State Representative,
District 25
James Mills (R, incumbent)
Christopher Strickland (D)

State court judge (nonpartisan)
Sonny Sykes
Charlie Wynne (incumbent)

Appeals Court Judge (nonpartisan)
Tamela L. Adkins
Sara Doyle
Bruce M. Edenfield
Christopher J. McFadden
Perry J. McGuire
Michael S. Meyer von Bremen
Mike Sheffield

Hall County ballot questions
Question 1 (binding): Shall the Act be approved which amends the Hall County school district homestead exemptions for senior citizens by allowing any person who is 62 to 70 years of age who receives the first exemption to automatically receive the second exemption upon reaching 70 years of age?

Question 2 (nonbinding): Shall the governing authority of Hall County, Georgia authorize the Tax Commissioner of Hall County to collect the payment of ad valorem taxes on tangible property, other than motor vehicles, in two installments instead of one payment for the total amount of the tax due?
(for ballot questions in other counties, see the link in Related Content).

State amendments
Amendment 1: "Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to provide that the General Assembly by general law shall encourage the preservation, conservation, and protection of the state's forests through the special assessment and taxation of certain forest lands and assistance grants to local government?"

Amendment 2: "Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to authorize community redevelopment and authorize counties, municipalities, and local boards of education to use tax funds for redevelopment purposes and programs?"

Amendment 3: "Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to authorize the General Assembly to provide by general law for the creation and comprehensive regulation of infrastructure development districts for the provision of infrastructure as authorized by local governments?"

Voter ID
Each voter will complete a voter certificate when entering their polling place. The poll worker will request to see one of the required forms of photo ID from the voter, then mark on the voter's certificate the type of ID displayed.

The poll worker will verify that the voter is the person pictured on the ID and verify that the voter is in the correct voting location. Then the poll worker will place a voter access card into the ExpressPoll unit, encoding the card with the political party's ballot chosen by the voter. The voter will be directed to a voting unit to cast their ballot as shown on instructions posted in each voting booth.

Types of ID accepted are:

(1) A Georgia driver's license which was properly issued by the appropriate state agency;

(2) A valid voter identification card or other valid identification card issued by a branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Georgia, any other state, or the United States authorized by law to issue personal identification containing a photograph;

(3) A valid United States passport;

(4) A valid employee identification card containing a photograph of the elector and issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the United States government, this state, or any county, municipality, board, authority, or other entity of this state;

(5) A valid United States military identification card containing a photograph of the elector;

(6) a valid tribal identification card containing a photograph of the elector

If a voter does not have one of the required forms of photo ID, or if the voter's name cannot be located on the voter's list, such voter will be allowed to cast a provisional ballot. Instructions on the provisional balloting process will be displayed at each voting location.

Election contacts
The registration deadline for the general election was Oct. 6. For more information, visit the Secretary of State Web site or contact your local elections office:

Hall County Election Supervisor
2285 Browns Bridge Road, Suite 2
Post Office Drawer 1435
Gainesville, GA 30501-1435
Telephone: 770-531-6945
Fax: 770-531-3931

Banks County Chief Registrar
Banks County Courthouse
144 Yonah-Homer Road, Suite 9
Homer, GA 30547-2614
Telephone: 706-677-6260
Fax: 706-677-4102

Dawson County Election Supervisor
462 Memory Lane, Suite 150
Post Office Box 436
Dawsonville, GA 30534-0436
Telephone: 706-344-3640
Fax: 706-344-3642

Forsyth County Election Supervisor
110 East Main St., Suite 200
Cumming, GA 30040-2468
Telephone: 770-781-2118
Fax: 770-886-2825  

Habersham County Chief Registrar
555 Monroe St., Unit 45
Clarkesville, GA 30523-7815
Telephone: 706-754-4068
Fax: 706-754-5836

Jackson County Chief Registrar
Administrative Building
67 Athens St.
Jefferson, GA 30549-1401
Telephone: 706-367-6377
Fax: 706-367-1193

Lumpkin County Election Supervisor
99 Courthouse Hill, Suite G
Dahlonega, GA 30533-0540
Telephone: 706-864-6279
Fax: 706-864-0731

White County Chief Registrar
59 South Main Str., Suite C
Cleveland, GA 30528
Telephone: 706-865-2225
Fax: 706-219-0078

Regional events