By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Area candidates qualify for political races
Placeholder Image

Qualifying ended today with one more candidate filing locally. Steven Ellis, an independent from Gainesville, will be challenging incumbent Scott Gibbs for Hall County Board of Commissioners District 3. Ellis must obtain 935 signatures by July 8 to officialy be in the race.

The U.S. House 9th District race also drew one more: Bernie Fontaine, R-Suches. Incumbent Doug Collins, R-Gainesville, and David Vogel, D-Hull, had filed to qualify earlier in the week.

Local candidates who filed papers to qualify for races this week include the following:

  • US House, District 9: Doug Collins, R-Gainesville (incumbent); Bernie Fontaine, R-Suches; David Vogel, D-Hull
  • Governor: Nathan Deal, R-Gainesville; John Barge, R-Rome; Jason Carter, D-Atlanta; and David Pennington, R-Dalton
  • Lieutenant governor: Casey Cagle, R-Chestnut Mountain (incumbent), facing Connie Stokes, D-Atlanta
  • State House, District 27: Lee Hawkins, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State House, District 29: Carl Rogers, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State House, District 30: Emory Dunahoo, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State House, District 103: Timothy Barr, R-Lawrenceville (incumbent)
  • State Senate, District 49: Butch Miller, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State Senate, District 50: John Wilkinson, R-Toccoa (incumbent)
  • State school superintendent: Ashley Bell, R-Gainesville; Michael Buck, R-Rome; Mary Bacallao, R-Fayetteville; Sharyl Dawes, R-Johns Creek; Tarnisha Dent, D-Atlanta; Allen Fort, R-Valdosta; Denise Freeman, D-Tignall; Nancy Jester, R-Dunwoody; Fitz Johnson, R-Marietta; Jurita Mays, D-Decatur, Alisha Morgan, D-Austell; Rita Robinzine, D-Lithonia; Kira Willis, R-Roswell; Valarie Wilson, D-Decatur; and Richard Woods, R-Tifton
  • Public Service Commission, District 4: Craig Lutz, R-Flowery Branch; Daniel Blackman, D-Atlanta; Douglas Kidd, R-Lavonia; and Bubba McDonald, R-Clarkesville (incumbent)
  • Judge of Superior Court, Northeastern: Jason Deal, nonpartisan, Gainesville (incumbent)
  • Judge of Superior Court, Northeastern: Andrew Fuller, nonpartisan, Gainesville (incumbent)
  • District Attorney, Northeastern: Lee Darragh, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State solicitor: Stephanie Woodard, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • State court judge: Larry Baldwin, nonpartisan, Murrayville (incumbent)
  • Hall County Board of Commissioners, District 1: Ken Cochran, R-Flowery Branch; Kathy Cooper, R- Chestnut Mountain
  • Hall County Board of Commissioners, District 3: Scott Gibbs, R-Gainesville (incumbent); Steven Ellis, ind.-Gainesville
  • Hall County Board of Education, At-large: Bill Thompson, R-Oakwood (incumbent) and Paul Wayne Godfrey, R-Flowery Branch
  • Hall County Board of Education, Post 1: Sam Chapman, R-Gainesville (incumbent)
  • Hall County Board of Education, Post 2: Traci Lawson McBride, R-Braselton; Mark Pettitt, R-Chestnut Mountain; and Brian Sloan, R-Chestnut Mountain (incumbent)