By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4 qualify for South Hall House race
2 qualify for Senate District 50 special election
Placeholder Image

Four more candidates have qualified to represent South Hall County in the state House of Representatives.

Oakwood builder Todd Reed, attorney William "Sonny" Sykes, Flowery Branch City Councilman Kris Yardley and Oakwood businessman Emory Dunahoo all filed paperwork with the Secretary of State's Office Tuesday.

All four men are Republicans.

They join Republicans Bobby Banks, a former member of the Hall County Board of Commissioners, and Dominic Ottaviano, a Hoschton businessman, in the race to complete the final year of Rep. James Mills' term.

One Democrat, Paul Wayne Godfrey, has also signed up for the race.

Mills left the statehouse last week; he will join Georgia's Board of Pardons and Paroles in January, thanks to an appointment from Gov. Nathan Deal.

The election to complete his term will be held on the same day as municipal elections, Nov. 8.

On the same day, there will be a special election to complete the term of former Sen. Jim Butterworth, representing state Senate District 50.

Butterworth was appointed adjutant general of the Georgia National Guard in early September.

Currently, the 50th Senate District seat includes all of Banks, Franklin, Habersham, Hart, Rabun, Stephens and Towns counties as well as a portion of White County.

Also on Tuesday, Lavonia businessman Curtis Burger, a Republican, and Royston insurance agent David Strickland, qualified for the election to complete Butterworth's term.

Both men are Republicans.

They join state Rep. Rick Austin, a Republican from Demorest, and Republican John Wilkinson, of Toccoa, who qualified for the Senate election Monday.

Qualifying for both races ends at noon today.

No party primaries will be held in the special elections, though party affiliation will be listed on the ballot. A runoff, if needed, would be held Dec. 6.

Voters must be registered by Oct. 11 vote Nov. 8.

Staff writer Ashley Fielding contributed to this report.