By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
3 Northeast Georgia students named to state council
Placeholder Image

State School Superintendent John Barge Tuesday named 50 students, including three from Northeast Georgia, to the 2011-2012 Student Advisory Council.

Rebekah Benton of Flowery Branch High School, Zachary Gerrells of Dawson County High School and Buford Donald Malone III of Jefferson High School will serve on the council.

The group will meet twice throughout the school year to advise the superintendent and Georgia Department of Education on how state policies are impacting the classroom. The council will also discuss other education issues and will serve as the superintendent’s ambassadors in their respective schools.

“The Student Advisory Council is an invaluable resource to the leadership of the Georgia Department of Education,” Barge said. “This group will provide a unique perspective on how state policies are working in the classroom and allow me the opportunity to communicate directly with students in schools throughout Georgia.”

More than 700 students applied by filling out an application and answering an essay question. Students were chosen based on the strength of their essay answers, as well as their school and community involvement.

Their first meeting will be Nov. 1 at the Georgia Department of Education in Atlanta.

Regional events