By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
SkillsUSA competitors head to state contest
Placeholder Image

Students from Chestatee, East Hall, Flowery Branch, Johnson and West Hall high schools as well as Lanier Charter Career Academy placed at the Region SkillsUSA Competition on Feb. 6 at North Georgia Technical College in Clarkesville. Students earning first and second advanced to the state finals March 13-15 at the Georgia International Convention Center in Atlanta on March 13-15.

First-place winners were:

Peter Adams, Johnson, photography

Davey Cantrell, East Hall, auto refinishing

Caleb Cape, East Hall, SkillsUSA pin design

Asuncion Iniguez, LCCA, masonry

Stephanie Lopez and Deisi Pizano (model) LCCA, esthetics

Christopher Mumpower, Johnson, graphic communications

Melinda Smith, Johnson, advertising design

Matt Stewart, Chestatee, carpentry

Second-place winners:

Chrystian Bis, Johnson, computer maintenance technology

Matthew Cobbs, Flowery Branch, advertising design

Ryan Cravero, LCCA, HVAC

Jake Delong, Chestatee, power equipment technology

Luis Martinez, Johnson, electrical construction wiring

Noe Martinez, West Hall, technical drafting

Felix Nunez, East Hall, graphic communications

Charles Olsen, Johnson, TV production

Andrew Todd, Johnson, TV production

Third-place winners:

Ryan Corrigan, Flowery Branch, electrical design

Julio Gallegos, West Hall, masonry

Pamela Iriarte, Flowery Branch, architectural drafting

Jessica Sanchez and Karina Moran (model) LCCA, esthetics

Celena Tovar (technician) and Karen Flores (model), Johnson, nail care

Austin Winters, East Hall, collision repair

Teamworks winners were:

First — Trey Beaulieu, Conner Clark, Kevin Coughlin, Logan Stanley and Conner Thoman, Lanier Charter Career Academy

Second — Oscar Aguilar, Bailey Albertson, Mark McGraw, McClain Ptacek and Matthew Purcell — Johnson High

Quix Bowl winners were:

Third — Fabi Aldana, Jocelyne Carrillo, Shane Coleman, Jonathan Corona, T.C. Fowler, Kevin Kelly, and Ashleigh Strickland — West Hall High School.

Regional events