By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News, Oct. 29
LakeviewAcademy SemiFinalist Commended Students
From left, John Cox, Grant Hocker, Marissa Baer, Joris trip, Vidya Mani-Medepalli and Austin Montgomery of Lakeview Academy were recognized by the National Merit Scholar Program for exceptional academic promise.

If you would like your news listed, we request the following:

• Name of organization, student, club or school

• The time and date of the event, award

• A phone number, email address or other contact information

Email to Please limit the number of photos to one. Sorry, we cannot guarantee when, or if, an item will run; due to the number of submissions, items run as space permits at the editor’s discretion. Graduate/dean’s list announcements will only run online quarterly.

Brenau University sophomore Suzette Meza won the Georgia Woman of the Year scholarship from the Georgia Commission on Women.

Meza, a conflict resolution and legal studies major, was one of five undergraduates from colleges and universities around the state to receive the $1,000 unrestricted grants at a ceremony that honored Georgia Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein as Georgia Woman of the Year — the 16th Georgian accorded the honor since the program began in 1996. Others include former first lady Rosalynn Carter, former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin and SPANX founder Sara Blakely.

The Georgia Woman of the Year Committee, Inc., in cooperation with the Georgia Commission on Women, has established a scholarship awards program for women attending Georgia colleges and universities. Recipients must have competed at least their freshman year, have at least a 2.5 grade point average, exhibit leadership capabilities and have participated in community campus activities.

Austin Montgomery has been named a semifinalist in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program. Of the more than 1.5 million juniors who entered the 2013 competition by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, only 16,000 reached the semifinalist level.
Austin will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.
In addition, Marissa Baer, John Cox, Grant Hocker, Vidya Mani-Medepalli and Joris Trip have been named Commended Students. About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. These students rank in the top 5 percent of seniors in the country based on the October 2011 PSAT/NMSQT Test.

Calob Fitzpatrick of Johnson High School has been selected for membership in the The National Society of High School Scholars. The society honors top scholars and only invites those students who have achieved superior academic success.