By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News
Placeholder Image

Do you have school news you’d like to share?
If you have an award, good deed or other news you’d like to share with our readers, please submit your information to Please limit the number of photos you send to one. Sorry, we cannot guarantee when an item will run; due to the number of submissions, items run as space permits.

The following students were named to the fall 2011 dean's list at Armstrong Atlantic State University. In order to make the dean's list, students must be enrolled in at least nine semester hours of course work and earn a grade point average of at least 3.6.

Buford: Laura Smith; Cleveland: Matthew Goss; Flowery Branch: Kristen Holmes; Hoschton: Amanda Smiley; Jefferson: Caleb Richards; Statham: Madison Reed.



The following local students have been named to the fall 2011 dean's list at Berry College. To be eligible for dean's list, a student must carry a semester GPA of 3.5 or better.

Braselton: Margaret Dollar; Buford: Taylor Johnson, Michael Shaw; Cleveland: Elizabeth Dunagan, Joshua Howard, Naysia Howard, Sara Walcott; Flowery Branch: Karleigh Calhoun, Jessica Keenan; Gainesville: Lindsay Cannon, Suzanne Cindea, Albert Harrison, Kayla Heflin, Christine Mitchell, Trevor Bishop; Hoschton: Ashley Douglas, Brittany Farmer; Murrayville: Jackson Hortenstine, Charles Hortenstine.



The following local students completed courses with exemplary marks and made the dean's list for 2011 fall semester at Georgia College in Milledgeville.

Buford: Kelsey Kennedy, Maureen Rhodes, Baxter Smith; Commerce: Alexandria Pace; Flowery Branch: Danielle Bechtold, Natalie Compton, Charles Kinamon; Gainesville: Emmanuel Ibarra, Jessica Stephens, Mary Coker, Jessica Daniel, Lieren Forbes, Kristen Holcomb, William Story, Katherine Stotts, Lauren Thompson, Lauren Pavao; Hoschton: Kelsey Bagwell, Niall Lutes, Stephanie Vincent; Murrayville: Kent Miller.



The following area residents completed courses with exemplary marks and made the President's List for fall semester 2011 from Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville.

Braselton: Jessica Padden, Brittany Shrewsbury; Buford: Kelsi Cunningham, Colleen Foy, Kari Goodbar, Cami Lawson, Lindsey Lee, Miriam McDonald, Caitlin Steinhour; Cleveland: Chloe Barrett; Flowery Branch: Avery Piperato, Molly Smith; Gainesville: Toni Garland, Sarah Hughs, Timothy McDonald, Jordan Vaughan, Mikalyn Defoor, Madeline Kearns; Hoschton: Alyssa D'Addieco, Alan McCurdy, Kayla Turner; Jefferson: Jessica Johnson.



The following students were named to the dean's list at the Savannah College of Art and Design for fall quarter 2011. To be eligible for the dean's list, full-time undergraduate students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or above for the quarter.

Buford: Josef Bell, Susan Kang;

Flowery Branch: Eric Beatty, Maggie Brannon, Thy Do, Anna-Sophie Keller;

Gainesville: Roberta Brown, Alexandra Clotfelter, Christopher Folea, Jessica Stevenson, Marine Turner, Andrea Van Hintum, Zachary Burke, Miranda Williamson;

Hoschton: Taylor Thibeau;

Jefferson: Aaron Edwards;

Nicholson: Anna Pierce.