By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Standing with Woodsey Owl are, front row from left, Bella Scarlett, Emma Kate Park, Maria Whitson, Bella Byrd, Jenna Pannek and Kassie Coley. Standing in the back row are Merideth Pannek, Kylee Peacock, Blue Bell and Baxter Geyer.

Students at Enota Multiple Intelligences Academy participated in the fourth annual Multiple Intelligences Fair in January. They showed off their talents in dance, song, poetry, karate and even dog training. Local figures attended, such as Mayor Myrtle Figueras, dentist Brad Dixon, author Robin Hood Black and county librarian Gail Hogan. Dick Hogan of the U.S. Forestry Service also brought Smokey the Bear and Woodsey Owl to meet the kids.

The following students have graduated from the University of Georgia in December 2007:David Cash, Homer; Whitney Kelley and Ashley Styles, Maysville; Jennifer Parker, Lula; Brett Buckelew, Stephen Burruss, Brooke Wheeler and Kenneth Reese, Dawsonville; Jo Anna Descher, Sara Nelson and James Patton III, Cleveland; Jeremy Adams, Thomas Anderson, Robert Callahan, Jennifer Canavan, Catherine Cantrell, Garrett Cox, Felipe Davila, Benjamin Downey, Caleb Gilleland, Patrick Jasin, Lauren Lecoy, Holly Lunsford, Kelby Pruitt, Jennifer Satterfield, Jacob Wray, Robert Shoemaker and Jesse Turcotte, Cumming; Daniel Elliott, Margaret Bennett, Timothy Boyd, Louis Dixon III, Mark Graham, Nancy Gross, Tyler Harvey, Whitney Hester, Jennifer Jackson, Jose Juarez, Sarah Kearns, Katie Little, Jennifer Meeks, Charles Pittman, Erin Pridemore, Virginia Puckett, Jessica Robson, Jonathan Whitlock, Julia Wynne and Carlos Young, Gainesville; Kelsey Gonyo, Olivia Magee, Jason Lemley, Bryan Luke, Melissa Scarborough and Stuart Sheppard, Dahlonega; Anna Astin and Courtney Stillwagon, Demorest; Elizabeth Grizzard, Clarkesville; Mariya Babaskina, Keith Crandall, Shelly De Chabert, Irene Godina, Susan Kinningham and Lisa Weeks Lemoine, Flowery Branch; Karla Lairsey Swafford, Talmo; Alicia Wages, Oakwood; John Eskew, Pendergrass; Jessica Graves, Laura Hall, Jessica Shirley, Willis Wilbanks III and Darea Wilson, Jefferson.

The following students have been named to the president’s list for the fall semester 2007 at Gainesville State College: Bryan M. Cobb, Alto; Christy E. Ansley, Canton; Matthew B. Almand, Clermont; Caleb T. Blackstock, Cleveland; Crystal A. Guest, Taylor L. Miller and William A. Illg, Cumming; Sylvia A. Gailey, Dahlonega; Jacob O. Davis, Dawsonville; Brooke M. Hodge, Caitlin A. O’Dell, Jessica N. Williams, Kendra L. Ramey, Michelle K. Bennett, Misty D. Compton and Terri L. Milburn of Flowery Branch; Amy L. Mobbs, Erick Miguel, Lucia Quinones, Ngan K. Truong and Russell T. Martin of Gainesville; Jessica A. Robinson and John C. Beckwith of Jefferson; Chase A. Rylee of Maysville;

The following students have been named to the dean’s list for the fall semester 2007 at Gainesville State College: Cameron E. Whitlock and Hannah N. Jordan, Alto; Kayla B. Elliott and Mitzi C. Dunagan, Cleveland; Nathan J. Jordan, Cumming; Heather Gornes and Marvin B. Nix, Dawsonville; Katarzyna M. Pawlos, Melissa L. Morgan, Miryam G. Gonzalez and Rochee A. Richardson, Flowery Branch; Daniel A. Phillips, David P. Frizzell, Isaac C. Webster, Karla S. Ibarra, Kimberly R. Askew, Linda N. Allemani, Mary E. Burns, Nathan A. Lee and Toni M. Garland, Gainesville; Anna B. Garrison, Lula; and Christopher A. Bryan, Murrayville.

Regional events