By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good news
DAR members from left are Regent Marcie Fletcher, Janet Thurston, Alice Brock, Patty Carter, Susan Sanfillipo and Margaret Ellett. Not pictured are Mary Barnett, Amelia Hammond, Gay Hammond, Susan Hawk, Mary Lines and Carolyn Sledzik.

Midshipman Tyler Dunagan of Gainesville, a senior at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y., recently received a $450 scholarship from the Women’s Propeller Club. Dunagan is majoring in logistics and intermodal transportation and is currently secretary of the Student Propeller Club, Second Battalion Logistics Officer and a member of the Logistics Exchange Club. Rep. Nathan Deal nominated Dunagan to attend the academy, which trains students as licensed merchant marine and U.S. Navy Reserve officers.

Limestone Heritage Nursing Center’s recreational department recently held Casino Day for its residents.

Navy Seaman Nicholas A. Jackson, son of Angie and Frank Jackson of Gainesville, recently completed U.S. Navy basic training at Recruit Training Command in Great Lakes, Ill. The eight-week program included variety of training including first aid, firefighting and water safety and survival. Jackson is a 2005 graduate of North Hall High School in Gainesville.

The Wayne Farms facility in Oakwood recently sponsored a schoolwide poster design contest at Oakwood Elementary School to help students learn about fire prevention and safety during National Fire Prevention Week. Six students were awarded with cash prizes. Employees and partners at Wayne Farms focused their attention on promoting safety guidelines and educating students about the potential causes of residential fires.

The Colonel William Candler Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution recently installed new members.  The chapter now has 98 members.

Winners at the 2007 Georgia’s Official State Fiddlers’ Convention held during the Georgia Mountain Fall Festival in Hiawassee are as follows.

Beginning Fiddle (Age 15 and younger): First place, Alex Thomlinson of Suches; second place, Danielle Bishop of Fairview, N.C.; and third place, Jennifer Warrilous of Alpharetta.

Harmonica: First place, Lewis Taylor of Ringgold; second place, Walter Waters of Dothan, Ala.; and third place, Gayle Decker of Spanish Fort, Ala.

Buck dancing: First place, Kris Berrong of Hiawassee; and second place, Sarah Ellen McDonald of Dahlonega.

Dulcimer: First place, Rob Pearcy of Smyrna, Tenn.; second place, Bobby Nobley of LaGrange; and third place, Bradley Ellis of Grover, N.C.

Dobro: First place, Jeffrey Partin of Ellijay; second place, Walter Dean of Decatur; third place, Rob Pearcy of Smyrna, Tenn.

Old Time Banjo: First place, Chris Ryan of Brevard, N.C.; second place, Rob Pearcy of Smyrna, Tenn.; third place, Steve Marshall of Young Harris.

Mandolin: First place, Bobby Nobley of LaGrange; second place, Brian Stephens of Monroe; third place, David Blackmon of Winterville; and fourth place, Rob Pearcy of Smyrna, Tenn.

Banjo: First place, Jody Hughes of Marietta; second place, Kerry Warbington of Cleveland; third place, Seth Taylor of Bryson City, N.C.; fourth place, Brett Cantrell of Cherry Log.

Guitar of Flat Pick: First place, Seth Taylor of Bryson City, N.C.; second place, Brian Stephens of Monroe; third place, Joshua Ledford of Mineral Bluff; fourth place, Kevin Walker of Newnan.

Guitar of Finger Style: First place, Derrill Scott of Franklin; second place, Lonnie Portwood of Jacksonville, Fla.; third place, Brian Stephens of Monroe; fourth place, Chris Ryan of Bryson City, N.C.

Bluegrass Band: First place, Blue Streak of Hartwell; second place, Cohutta Crossing of Ellijay; third place, The Porch Dogs of Sautee; fourth place, Barefoot Creek of Dahlonega.

Junior Fiddler (Age 59 and under): First place, Aerin DeJarnette of Snellville; second place, Maddie Denton of Murfreesboro, Tenn.; third place, Kyra Key of Atlanta; fourth place, John Duncan of Franklin.

Senior Fiddler (Age 60 and above): First place, Mack Snoderly of Clyde, N.C.; second place, Don Fox of Hiawassee; third place, Richard Bain of Campobello, S.C.; fourth place, DL Butler of Dahlonega.

The 2007 Georgia Mountain Fiddle King, determined by a fiddle off between the junior and senior fiddle winners is Aerin DeJarnette of Snellville.