By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4 area students National Merit Scholarship finalists
Placeholder Image

Three Flowery Branch High School and one North Hall High School students are 2014 National Merit Scholarship finalists.

Flowery Branch seniors are Anna K. Black, Joanne S. Jacob and Taylor M. Kay. The North Hall senior is Hyder S. Hasnain.

All four may be listed as a scholarship winner. The National Merit Scholarship Corp. will select the scholarship recipient later this spring. Winners will receive letter notification beginning in early spring before the announcement is publicized.

Award winners are chosen based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. A variety of information is available for selectors to evaluate such as: the finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the finalist’s essay.

Every finalist competes for a $2,500 scholarship, which is awarded on a state representational basis. Winners are selected without consideration of family financial circumstances, college choice, or major and career plans.

Regional events