By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Buford's Hunter earns national honor
Placeholder Image

Buford High senior Omar Hunter has been selected as the Bobby Dodd National High School Lineman of the Year by the Touchdown Club of Atlanta and will be recognized at the club’s 70th annual awards banquet Wednesday in Atlanta.

Other local winners include Buford senior T.J. Pridemore (Noah Langdale Metro Defensive Back of the Year) and Buford coach Jess Simpson, High School Coach of the Year.

Both Hunter and Pridemore have verbally committed to the University of Florida and are expected to sign with the Gators on Wednesday.

Numerous other high school and college athletes will be honored, including Terrelle Pryor of Jeanette Senior High School (Pa.), who earned the Bobby Dodd National High School Back of the Year award, and Florida’s Tim Tebow, who won the Wally Butts Award for the Southeast Top Offensive Back.

For tickets or more information, visit

Regional events