By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia spring football awards announced
Placeholder Image

ATHENS  -- The University of Georgia head football coach Mark Richt announced the team’s spring football awards Friday in conjunction with the annual spring G-Day football game.
The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring practice to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the field.
Richt also announced that walk-on redshirt freshman DL/LB Reuben Faloughi has been awarded a scholarship.
Highlighting the list of awards were the recipients of the long-standing Coffee County Hustle Award given annually to the player(s) showing the most desire during spring drills.  Recipients include Washaun Ealey, TB, Stillmore, Ga.; Demarcus Dobbs, DL/LB, Savannah, Ga.; DeAngelo Tyson, DT, Statesboro, Ga.
The list of 2010 awards are as follows:
MVP (offense): Cordy Glenn, LG, Riverdale, Ga.
True Grit Award (Offense): Shaun Chapas, FB, St. Augustine, Fla.
Coffee County Hustle Award (Offense): Washaun Ealey, TB, Stillmore, Ga.
Most Improved Player (Offense): Carlton Thomas, TB, Frostproof, Fla.
Outstanding Walk-On (Offense): Cameron Allen, FB, Canton, Ga./Kevin Lanier, FB, Woodstock, Ga.
MVP (Defense): Justin Houston, DL/LB, Statesboro, Ga.
True Grit Award (Defense): Akeem Dent, LB, Atlanta, Ga.
Coffee County Hustle Award (Defense): Demarcus Dobbs, DL/LB, Savannah, Ga./DeAngelo Tyson, DT, Statesboro, Ga.
Most Improved Player (Defense): Vance Cuff, CB, Moultrie, Ga./Brandon Boykin, CB, Fayetteville, Ga.
Outstanding Walk-On (Defense): Reuben Faloughi, DL/LB, Martinez, Ga.

Regional events