By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Semifinalists announced for Georgia Racing Hall of Fame
Placeholder Image

The Georgia Racing Hall of Fame in Dawsonville moved one step closer to being able to name the 2012 class of inductees this week, when it announced the “Fast 15” semifinalists. The five new inductees will be chosen by a panel of voters to make up this year’s class.

The 2012 semifinalists include Charles Barrett of Cleveland, Dick Brannon of Dawsonville, Charlie Burkhalter of Athens, Frank Christian of Dahlonega, Tommie Clinard of Macon, Pete Hamilton of Buford, Bill Ingram of Woodstock, Bobby Johns of Miami, Fla., Warren Johnson of Sugar Hill, Jabez Jones of Toccoa, Doug Kennimer of Dahlonega, Ethel Flock Mobley of Atlanta, Huston Platt of Buford, Louise Smith of Barnesville, and Herman Wise of Toccoa.

The announcement of the 2012 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame inductees will be made during the Hall of Fame’s 10th anniversary celebration event at 8 a.m. May 26 at the Hall of Fame in Dawsonville. The event begins with a swap meet, then a car show at 10 a.m. and the opening ceremony, which will include the inductee announcement around 11 a.m. There will also be a driver autograph session with members of the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame and current drivers. For more info, visit

The 2012 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Induction banquet will be held Oct. 26 at the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame, located inside the Dawsonville Municipal Complex. A limited number of seats for the banquet will be available. For more information, call the Hall of Fame at 706-216-7223 or go online to

Regional events